Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Assault on Doomrock» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule regarding "Movings" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff M
United States
Lafayette
California
flag msg tools
mb
I am unclear what the rulebook is trying to say in the section on "Moving" on page 14. Specifically;

"A character may move to a new group, even if not adjacent to other characters. While this does not change the position of that character relative to other characters it represents the character running around the battlefield and is also considered a move".

Exactly what is this trying to say?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff M
United States
Lafayette
California
flag msg tools
mb
OK, no reply.

This is what I think the rules are trying to say.
(For clarity sake, I am using the definition of a "Group" as "more than one character".)


With a "Move", a character can;

If already in a "Group", a character can either move over to another "Group" or move off to stand by itself (become "Solitary")

If "Solitary", a character can move to join a "Group" or another "Solitary" character (thereby forming a new "Group" with that character.)

There is no reason for a "Solitary" character to move to another "Solitary" position on the table other than the aesthetics of seeing it move around, as it's spatial relationship to other "Solitary" characters and "Groups" has no affect on gameplay....but, if you want to do so to pretend it is running around, feel free.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Fast
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A group comprises one or more characters (i.e. heroes or minions). There is no actual movement in the game except transitioning from one group to another. By definition, a character is ALWAYS in a group, even if he's the only one in it.

Another way to imagine it would be to take some lengths of yarn and make circles on the table. Those circles represent groups. All characters MUST be inside one of those circles at all times, and some circles might contain only one character while others might contain several.

The word "group" might sound weird to some in this case, but just remember that a group is like a container for characters, and sometimes a container might only contain 1 character.

Using your term, "solitary", all solitary characters are in a group of their own, and therefore no other characters are adjacent to them. Other characters can join the group by moving adjacent, as will often happen as actions on enemy AI cards.

Or, if a character is in a group with more than one character, that character can be pushed into a new group comprising only themselves (for example, by one type of Expose token). Heroes can also use the Maneuver action to move to a new group comprising only themselves if they wish. They can also move to an existing group with other characters, in which case they'll then be adjacent to those characters.

The rulebook is only trying to indicate that when you have a character off in a group of their own, it's thematically as if they were moving around the battlefield because they have no fixed reference point. As you said, feel free to pretend characters are running around.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff M
United States
Lafayette
California
flag msg tools
mb
Thank you. Very helpful.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarad Bond
United States
Anchorage
Alaska
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lowden025 wrote:
There is no reason for a "Solitary" character to move to another "Solitary" position on the table other than the aesthetics of seeing it move around, as it's spatial relationship to other "Solitary" characters and "Groups" has no affect on gameplay....but, if you want to do so to pretend it is running around, feel free.

There is a subtle reason. Some cards require you to move to a distant group. That doesn't mean you have to actually join a group with other characters or terrain. A distant group can be a distant [empty] group. There is no change to the arrangement of pieces on the table, but you have fulfilled the requirement.

Of course, I personally still move the piece. It just doesn't seem right if you don't. whistle
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.