Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
19 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: How to lose? - and other questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Try More
msg tools
New: There is a mystery card called "Schlangenkrone" in german. When a player gains an artifact, he can take the artifact Schlangenkrone instead. After the mythos phase the player can role dice for willpower -1. If he's successful, he can spend 2 clues and 2 ally asset Cards to solve the mystery. If a card in the game says "advance the active
Mystery", how do you advance this Schlangenkrone mystery?


Old: How do you lose this game? The (german) rules say that when all characters died, you lose the game. But it also says that when your character dies, you should chose another one? I don't really get this rule

When a monster enters the game, are you allowed to look at the backside (stats)? Or can you do that only if there is a green symbol on the front?

Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas with Subtrendy
msg tools
mbmbmb
Re: How to lose?
You choose a new character when yours dies. However, if Doom has happened and the Ancient One has awakened, you do not choose a new investigator.

You can also lose if the Mythos deck runs out.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: How to lose?
I generally lose as soon as I set up.

Seriously though, that's one of the ways to lose.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Black
United States
Moraine
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: How to lose?
I believe that means in, say a 4 character game, if all 4 characters die/go insane at the same time, you lose. This is often accomplished by rumors or mythos cards. If anyone survives, the other players pick new characters and play goes on.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Crockett
United States
Bridgewater
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: How to lose?
The distinction in the rules is between players and investigators.

The player is the physical person playing the game (you). The investigator is their avatar in the game (Charlie Kane, for instance.) If all of the players are eliminated, you have lost. If an investigator is killed, the player selects a new one from among the available living investigators if the Ancient One is not awake. If the Ancient One is awake, or all other investigators are dead or already in the game, that player is eliminated.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
soak man
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: How to lose?
Also, if you run out of Mythos cards in the mythos deck investigators lose. This is how we lose the most often to be honest.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bell
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: How to lose?
If an investigator is defeated, the player is not eliminated unless 1) the ancient one has awakened BEFORE the doom caused by the investigator being defeated, 2) there are no investigators left to choose or 3) some other game effect specifically says the player is eliminated.

#2 will never happen. It just won't. The rule's only there as a safety measure for freak occurrences.

#3, as far as I can think of, doesn't exist at all yet, but it COULD some time in the future with expansions.


So in practice, only case #1 matters. Also, it doesn't matter if every investigator is defeated all at once. So long as the condition isn't triggered, all the players are still in the game and will still get to choose new investigators next turn.

A special note: If the lead investigator is defeated, they have to pass the lead investigator token to a living investigator. If there's no one valid to give it to, though, they just hold on to it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Albert Aligato
Philippines
Quezon City
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: How to lose?
Plain-est way to lose: to have the Mythos deck run out of cards and not have 3 Mysteries (and the Final Mystery, if needed) solved.

Any other Loss condition should be printed on various cards (e.g. Rumor Mythos Cards) or sheets (e.g. Ancient One sheet).

When a Investigator is defeated/devoured, they pick a new character at the end of the round.

But if the Ancient One has woken up when the Investigator was defeated/devoured, they are eliminated (i.e. they don't get to pick a new Investigator). Then, if all players are eliminated (none of them are controlling any Investigators), they lose.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Blumhardt
United States
Fargo
North Dakota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: How to lose?
Chipacabra wrote:
If an investigator is defeated, the player is not eliminated unless 1) the ancient one has awakened BEFORE the doom caused by the investigator being defeated, 2) there are no investigators left to choose or 3) some other game effect specifically says the player is eliminated.

#2 will never happen. It just won't. The rule's only there as a safety measure for freak occurrences.


To be fair, when the game first came out (or if someone is playing only with the base game), it's certainly possible. I've seen inexperienced or unlucky groups go through quite a few investigators, and with 12 characters and 8 players, that's only 5 deaths before you start losing players.

Of course, now with 44 investigators (as of Dreamlands)... yeah, it's not going to happen.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Try More
msg tools
Re: How to lose?
Another question: Can you regenerate more health and brain than is printed on the character card? thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xelto G
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: How to lose?
Trymore wrote:
Another question: Can you regenerate more health and brain than is printed on the character card? thank you

No.

At least not yet. I've been sort of expecting it at some point, but still not yet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Try More
msg tools
Re: How to lose?
When a monster enters the game, are you allowed to look at the backside (stats)? Or can you do that only if there is a green symbol on the front?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
It's open information.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Try More
msg tools
Another question: In the expansions there are Prolog cards which give each game a different setup. Can you use this cards for all great old ones (the big enemies), or only the ones from the same expansion? thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bell
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Any prelude can be used with any ancient one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Try More
msg tools
How do you use the condition and magic card stacks. As far as I understand, when you draw a random card you take the one from the bottom. But when you have to take a certain type of card, do you search from the bottom or from the top? Do you shuffle the cards afterwards?

When you get to draw a new weapon and there's no weapon among the 4 open cards, do you search the stack from the top until you find a weapon and then you shuffle the cards again?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davy Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you always draw from the bottom of the Conditions and Spell decks, even if you are looking for a specific type of card. And you always shuffle them afterwards.

I'm not sure what you mean by "draw a new weapon". You will have to tell us the specific card that is telling you to do that. It should say exactly what to do on the card.

But if you are ever told by a card or effect to "Gain a random Weapon Asset", for example, you would draw from the top of the Asset deck (it's a face down deck) until you get an Asset that has the word "Weapon" on it. Then you would shuffle it afterwards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Try More
msg tools
There is a mystery card called "Schlangenkrone" in german. When a player gains an artifact, he can take the artifact Schlangenkrone instead. After the mythos phase the player can role dice for willpower -1. If he's successful, he can spend 2 clues and 2 ally asset Cards to solve the mystery. If a card in the game says "advance the active
Mystery", how do you advance this Schlangenkrone mystery?

Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davy Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That is the "Crown of the Serpent" Mystery.

To advance this Mystery, you place a Clue token from the Clue Pool on it. Then, any Investigator that is going to try to solve the Mystery can use that Clue as one of the Clues they need.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.