Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Minerva» Forums » Rules

Subject: Confused by order tokens? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Iavor Diatchki
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Hello,

as far as I understand, the order tiles are used to determine the first player for the next round, and the order in which players buy assistants.

But why does the order of buying assistants matter? There are enough assistants so that each player can get 1 every round so they won't run out, and beyond this I can't think of any reason. Am I missing some rule?

So, are order tiles 2--4 only meaningful in the last round, when they also give victory points?

I've only played once, but a very fun game so far!

Iavor




 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iavor Diatchki
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Answering my own question, at least in part: I just saw that the turn order tiles are also used to resolve ties during the military phase, so that makes them more useful.

I still can't think of a reason for the order of buying assistants though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Blum
United States
Wilmington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
You can use glory instead of money to buy assistants, and the order of spending glory can matter a lot since it is assessed after assistants are purchased.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iavor Diatchki
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Of course! I knew I was missing something, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Davis
California
flag msg tools
badge
Love the world.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On page 8 of the rules for the Pandasaurus edition, it says “At the end of round five, turn all but the highest order tile face down.”

I do not understand the point of that. Any insights?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Amick
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hobbes wrote:
On page 8 of the rules for the Pandasaurus edition, it says “At the end of round five, turn all but the highest order tile face down.”

I do not understand the point of that. Any insights?


"Face down" isn't the best phrase. They mean you should turn them over so that the side showing victory points is visible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Davis
California
flag msg tools
badge
Love the world.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought it might have something to do with the VP on the reverse. But the Order 1 tile also has VP on the reverse, and we're specifically told not to turn that one face down.

It doesn't seem like it matters though. Thanks for the response.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Amick
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hobbes wrote:
I thought it might have something to do with the VP on the reverse. But the Order 1 tile also has VP on the reverse, and we're specifically told not to turn that one face down.

It doesn't seem like it matters though. Thanks for the response.


No, you've misread. The highest numbered tile is left alone. That's why IIII has no VP markings on it. The VPs are intended as an incentive (or compensation, at least) to leave the main phase early on the last round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Davis
California
flag msg tools
badge
Love the world.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.