Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
18 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about the rules. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alan X
Norway
flag msg tools
Hello!
Me and my girlfriend played Eldritch Horror for the first time today, and there is some rules we dont understand.

We were wondering what we would do with the Encounter decks when we have drawn a card and done what it says on the card? Do we make a discard pile for each specific card? For example general encounter cards get one pile, american encounter pile gets one, mythos encounter cards get one, etc.

We have also encountered that we lost a "test" for a clue encounter, do we place that card in the clue spot, and do the same "test" every time? Or do we discard that card and draw new one next time (next action phase) we choose to try and get that clue again?

Thanks in advance guys!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vladimir Lehotai
Slovakia
Piešťany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each encounter card has its own discard pile and you draw a new card each time you do the research encounter, just as with any other encounter cards.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Filpus
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To save table space, we usually put discarded cards from the various encounter decks face up on the bottom of the deck. Then when you get to a face up card you reshuffle. (Once you have an expansion or two in the mix, it's unlikely to go through any individual deck.)
6 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GregF wrote:
To save table space, we usually put discarded cards from the various encounter decks face up on the bottom of the deck. Then when you get to a face up card you reshuffle. (Once you have an expansion or two in the mix, it's unlikely to go through any individual deck.)

Good idea.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathias Heilmann
Germany
Essen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GregF wrote:
To save table space, we usually put discarded cards from the various encounter decks face up on the bottom of the deck. Then when you get to a face up card you reshuffle. (Once you have an expansion or two in the mix, it's unlikely to go through any individual deck.)

Yeah, with Forsaken Lore you have enough cards that you can just put them under the deck face down. Even if they would come up again (because you never leave one continent) you still have a 2/3 chance that you get another encounter from the same card. With only the base game, it's more common to see the same card twice.
EDIT: Typo
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan X
Norway
flag msg tools
Thanks guys! Really helped us with this!

We were also playing tonight, and got a few more questions. For now I only remember this in my head. So here we go, when there is 3 monsters, you defeat 1 of them, and lose to one of them, but both the investigator and the 2. monster is still alive. Does the investigator go to a combat encounter with the 3rd monster, or does he ends his turn because he lost against the 2. monster?

Thanks in advance yet again, got more question coming up, but cant remember them right now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xelto G
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Terrna wrote:
Thanks guys! Really helped us with this!

We were also playing tonight, and got a few more questions. For now I only remember this in my head. So here we go, when there is 3 monsters, you defeat 1 of them, and lose to one of them, but both the investigator and the 2. monster is still alive. Does the investigator go to a combat encounter with the 3rd monster, or does he ends his turn because he lost against the 2. monster?

You face all monsters, no matter what happens. You simply don't get any encounters beyond the monsters if there are any on the space at the end of combat.

Incidentally, because of the way you phrased you lose to one of them, I want to make sure you aren't making a mistake others have made (and my apologies if you already knew this): during combat, it's possible for both you and the monster to take damage. Each success during the strength test prevents one point of damage from the monster to you and does one point of damage to the monster.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysiek Domański
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GregF wrote:
To save table space, we usually put discarded cards from the various encounter decks face up on the bottom of the deck. Then when you get to a face up card you reshuffle. (Once you have an expansion or two in the mix, it's unlikely to go through any individual deck.)
We do the same, but we only shuffle the encounter deck when we go through it, not between games.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan X
Norway
flag msg tools
Thanks for the info, Xelto G. Good thing we played the game like that yesterday, we did it correctly then We faced them all, even when we did not managed to kill the 2. monster, but sadly the investigator did not survive the last monster.


Btw, does anybody have some tips & tricks on how to win? What should we go for the first few rounds of the game? Clues, close gates, monsters, expedition, improve stas, etc etc? We have only played it twice, but never managed to finish one mission eventhough we have a lot of clues in our hands(the encounter phase tests kills us )
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xelto G
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Terrna wrote:
Btw, does anybody have some tips & tricks on how to win? What should we go for the first few rounds of the game? Clues, close gates, monsters, expedition, improve stas, etc etc?

The best rule of thumb is, figure out where your priorities are. Keep distance to hotspots in mind.

For example, you're going to get a starting gate or two, depending on how many players you have. If the gate is nearby to someone capable of getting past the guard monster, try to shut it down. If the starting gate is three turns worth of movement away, ignore it for now, because by the time you get there, there will be another gate on the board, and there's a good chance it will be near you. Likewise, you can tell how fast you have to work on a rumor by its effects. Some rumors you can deal with at your leisure, a few you can simply ignore, and some that you have to drop everything else to get rid of fast.

Blue gates are more of a priority than red or green. Balance gate closing with mystery solving: not doing either is a recipe for disaster. Get clues when available, but how much you focus on clues depends on what mysteries and rumors have shown up.

When you have to travel for some reason, try to stop at places where you can buff yourself out a bit. Rest when needed, but don't obsess about being at full health and sanity all the time, and occasionally it's better to let a character die than it is to try to revive him. (There are a few people who say never rest and let them die, then recover their stuff. I think losing doom, stat boosts, and time to pick up the dead player's stuff makes this a bad do-it-every-time approach.)

If you're playing with focus, it's usually better, especially early on, to get assets and tickets over focusing. Focus when you have nothing else to do, or if you know you've got a critical roll coming up, or if you have an ability that uses focus.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
G Y
msg tools
I throw all my discards into a single, face-up pile. One pile for large cards, one for mini-cards. Mini-cards that are normally face-up (spells, conditions, etc.) are discarded to the top of their decks as normal.

At the end of the game all the discarded cards are sorted back into their respective decks. This saves table space and keeps the game flowing without people having to reach across the table to discard to the proper decks.

The only time I've seen this become an issue is with Wendy's ability. She can freely steal "trashed" trinkets from either the reserve or the discard pile. So toss all discarded trinkets her way, and you'll be fine.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Aristides
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Terrna wrote:

Btw, does anybody have some tips & tricks on how to win? What should we go for the first few rounds of the game? Clues, close gates, monsters, expedition, improve stas, etc etc? We have only played it twice, but never managed to finish one mission eventhough we have a lot of clues in our hands(the encounter phase tests kills us )


- Play with 4 investigators (if there are 2 players, play with 2 investigators each.
- Acquire assets as much as you can early on, taking a bank loan to add to your successes. Debts really aren't *that* bad.
And getting assets is the easiest way to improve your stats, which makes it easier to pass tests. If by the end of the game you aren't having trouble keeping track of all your assets/bonuses, you are doing something wrong
- Specialise your investigators; let the people with high Lore close the gates, the ones with high Strength fight monsters, and high Observation try to get clues. Take items that improve your strong stats.
-Watch games on youtube. Try something like:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6kfeelP8V8U
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan X
Norway
flag msg tools
nobody82b wrote:
Terrna wrote:

Btw, does anybody have some tips & tricks on how to win? What should we go for the first few rounds of the game? Clues, close gates, monsters, expedition, improve stas, etc etc? We have only played it twice, but never managed to finish one mission eventhough we have a lot of clues in our hands(the encounter phase tests kills us )


- Play with 4 investigators (if there are 2 players, play with 2 investigators each.
- Acquire assets as much as you can early on, taking a bank loan to add to your successes. Debts really aren't *that* bad.
And getting assets is the easiest way to improve your stats, which makes it easier to pass tests. If by the end of the game you aren't having trouble keeping track of all your assets/bonuses, you are doing something wrong
- Specialise your investigators; let the people with high Lore close the gates, the ones with high Strength fight monsters, and high Observation try to get clues. Take items that improve your strong stats.
-Watch games on youtube. Try something like:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6kfeelP8V8U


Sweet! We will try with 4 investigators today. Thank you so much on the tips on prioritising "Xelto G"

We also had some new questions for you guys today, it is so hard to fully understand the rules, so hope you guys can clarify some more for us, thanks in advance!

#1 - When we are doing a "acquire asset, action" if we roll 1 success but all of the cards cost 2 success or more, can we then discard one of them, so one of them can be replaced? Can we also replace one if we dont get any success? Can we only do 1 discard each time?

#2 - Event, it says on the card "Each investigator loses 2 Sanity and gains a MADNESS Condition unless he spends 1 Clue". Does that mean that if we use 1 clue we can overlook the card, or do we lose 2 Sanity and overlook the MADNESS condition?

#3 - "Delivery Service" asset card(?), "When you gain this card, immediately give any number of ITEM possessions to another investigator on any space Then discard this card." - If we for some reason took this card, instead of discarding it, can we choose not to give anything at all and just discard the card afterwards?

#4 - "Urban Guide" ally asset card(?), "If you are on a City space, investigators on your space roll 1 additional die when resolving test except when resolving Other World Encounters." - Does this include the investigator with this card, or only other investigators?

#5 - Mythos card, "Each investigator rolls 1 die and resolves the matching effect: 1-2: He is assaulted and loses 2 Health and 2 Sanity
3-5: A Monster ambushes him.
6: No effect.
- If we picked up a monster that has the green symbol (immediate affect, it says "When this Monster is spawned, move to The Pyramids". Do we put this monster to "The Pyramids" or to the investigators? My girlfriend rolled a 1 and I rolled a 3. Does he stay with me because he "ambushed" me? Or do we do the effects and let the monster stay in "The Pyramids"? Or do we discard the Monster after we have finished the Mythos card?

#6 - Cards that says "Discard 1 Monster of his choice" or "Each Monster on the chosen space loses 4 Health". Does this include Epic monster, or only normal Monsters?

Thank you guys so so much in advance, I am sorry for so many questions, but since my first language, it is kinda hard to understand it all. Really hope you guys can help!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xelto G
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
#1 - When we are doing a "acquire asset, action" if we roll 1 success but all of the cards cost 2 success or more, can we then discard one of them, so one of them can be replaced? Can we also replace one if we dont get any success? Can we only do 1 discard each time?

Discarding an asset card is in place of buying one. You always have that choice, but once you do it, you can't buy a card.

And in your scenario above, you can still buy an asset costing up to 3 if you get a debt condition, as well: a bank loan is always an option, so long as you don't have one already.

Quote:
#2 - Event, it says on the card "Each investigator loses 2 Sanity and gains a MADNESS Condition unless he spends 1 Clue". Does that mean that if we use 1 clue we can overlook the card, or do we lose 2 Sanity and overlook the MADNESS condition?

The clue prevents both.

Quote:
#3 - "Delivery Service" asset card(?), "When you gain this card, immediately give any number of ITEM possessions to another investigator on any space Then discard this card." - If we for some reason took this card, instead of discarding it, can we choose not to give anything at all and just discard the card afterwards?

Zero is a number: you can choose not to send anything with the service, but you still have to discard the card immediately; you can't keep it.

Quote:
#4 - "Urban Guide" ally asset card(?), "If you are on a City space, investigators on your space roll 1 additional die when resolving test except when resolving Other World Encounters." - Does this include the investigator with this card, or only other investigators?

It includes you.

Quote:
#5 - Mythos card, "Each investigator rolls 1 die and resolves the matching effect: 1-2: He is assaulted and loses 2 Health and 2 Sanity
3-5: A Monster ambushes him.
6: No effect.
- If we picked up a monster that has the green symbol (immediate affect, it says "When this Monster is spawned, move to The Pyramids". Do we put this monster to "The Pyramids" or to the investigators?

Ambushes ignore coming-into-play effects. It attacks you once, then vanishes.

If you defeat it before it returns to the monster cup, though, you do manage to get any "defeat a monster" effects.

Quote:
My girlfriend rolled a 1 and I rolled a 3. Does he stay with me because he "ambushed" me? Or do we do the effects and let the monster stay in "The Pyramids"? Or do we discard the Monster after we have finished the Mythos card?

Each person's roll is handled separately. She takes 2 health and 2 sanity damage; you are ambushed by a monster. If someone else was playing and rolled a 3, he would be ambushed by a monster, but you would draw a new one for him.

Quote:
#6 - Cards that says "Discard 1 Monster of his choice" or "Each Monster on the chosen space loses 4 Health". Does this include Epic monster, or only normal Monsters?

Epic monsters can be damaged by effects, such as the lose 4 health one. They cannot be discarded or moved by effects, though, so you can't use the discard a monster of your choice one on it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan X
Norway
flag msg tools
Xelto wrote:
Quote:
#1 - When we are doing a "acquire asset, action" if we roll 1 success but all of the cards cost 2 success or more, can we then discard one of them, so one of them can be replaced? Can we also replace one if we dont get any success? Can we only do 1 discard each time?

Discarding an asset card is in place of buying one. You always have that choice, but once you do it, you can't buy a card.

And in your scenario above, you can still buy an asset costing up to 3 if you get a debt condition, as well: a bank loan is always an option, so long as you don't have one already.

Quote:
#2 - Event, it says on the card "Each investigator loses 2 Sanity and gains a MADNESS Condition unless he spends 1 Clue". Does that mean that if we use 1 clue we can overlook the card, or do we lose 2 Sanity and overlook the MADNESS condition?

The clue prevents both.

Quote:
#3 - "Delivery Service" asset card(?), "When you gain this card, immediately give any number of ITEM possessions to another investigator on any space Then discard this card." - If we for some reason took this card, instead of discarding it, can we choose not to give anything at all and just discard the card afterwards?

Zero is a number: you can choose not to send anything with the service, but you still have to discard the card immediately; you can't keep it.

Quote:
#4 - "Urban Guide" ally asset card(?), "If you are on a City space, investigators on your space roll 1 additional die when resolving test except when resolving Other World Encounters." - Does this include the investigator with this card, or only other investigators?

It includes you.

Quote:
#5 - Mythos card, "Each investigator rolls 1 die and resolves the matching effect: 1-2: He is assaulted and loses 2 Health and 2 Sanity
3-5: A Monster ambushes him.
6: No effect.
- If we picked up a monster that has the green symbol (immediate affect, it says "When this Monster is spawned, move to The Pyramids". Do we put this monster to "The Pyramids" or to the investigators?

Ambushes ignore coming-into-play effects. It attacks you once, then vanishes.

If you defeat it before it returns to the monster cup, though, you do manage to get any "defeat a monster" effects.

Quote:
My girlfriend rolled a 1 and I rolled a 3. Does he stay with me because he "ambushed" me? Or do we do the effects and let the monster stay in "The Pyramids"? Or do we discard the Monster after we have finished the Mythos card?

Each person's roll is handled separately. She takes 2 health and 2 sanity damage; you are ambushed by a monster. If someone else was playing and rolled a 3, he would be ambushed by a monster, but you would draw a new one for him.

Quote:
#6 - Cards that says "Discard 1 Monster of his choice" or "Each Monster on the chosen space loses 4 Health". Does this include Epic monster, or only normal Monsters?

Epic monsters can be damaged by effects, such as the lose 4 health one. They cannot be discarded or moved by effects, though, so you can't use the discard a monster of your choice one on it.


Thank you so so much "Xelto G"!
I was wondering, what do you mean by this "If you defeat it before it returns to the monster cup, though, you do manage to get any "defeat a monster" effects."?

Also, if the epic monster for some reason have 3 health left, and we use the "Each monster on the chosen space loses 4 Health", does that mean they epic monster dies, and we do whatever effect it says on his card, if any?

Thanks yet again, really appreciate your help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Terrna wrote:
I was wondering, what do you mean by this "If you defeat it before it returns to the monster cup, though, you do manage to get any "defeat a monster" effects."?

Even though ambushing monsters would disappear at the end of battle anyway, if you roll well enough to defeat them that still does count as a defeat for effects triggered by that.

Quote:
Also, if the epic monster for some reason have 3 health left, and we use the "Each monster on the chosen space loses 4 Health", does that mean they epic monster dies, and we do whatever effect it says on his card, if any?
Yes, Epic monsters can be killed by damage effects, solving any related mystery or rumor as normal. It will count as a "defeat" for triggering other effects, but not a "defeat during a combat encounter".

Do note that some (mostly expansion?) Epic monsters can only be damaged under specific conditions (usually having an artifact on the active investigator). If you manage well who fulfils that condition you can still use damage effects on them and kill them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan X
Norway
flag msg tools
Thanks yet again!

Another one, while we are playing right now. When using a ticket either train or boat, can we use the ticket instead of a action to move? Or do we have to use the ticket while we are using the action "move"? I hope you guys understood me on this one. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Tickets cannot be used to move as a free action or anything, they can only "extend" a Travel action by 1 or 2 spaces (depending on how many tickets you have and spend).

Note that your regular move comes first, then any extra moves from tickets, this may be relevant depending on which ticket types you have on hand and may prohibit some moves you'd like to make. (Especially since there are no tickets for uncharted moves, those always have to be the first)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.