Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Millennium Blades» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do you "take a turn" when you pass? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Rouse
United States
Thibodaux
Louisiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Say I have an action that gives me two plays (energy drink, I think). My tableau is now full, but my opponent still has two cards left to play. He makes one play, and then it should be my turn, but I can't play. I know the rules say I must pass and I cannot take actions. But do I still do "start of turn" stuff? For instance, Fuscia Cat would get +1 Star Power, and Donteles would flip? Or no, because I'm passing? In which case, Donteles (Top: No one can gain RP) would prevent RP for two rounds?

Just had a game where Donteles (pretty sure that's the card's name) might have flipped himself, depending on how this is ruled, but if he didn't, I would have scored the guy who gives you 100 points for having all six types and elements. So this one little ruling would have a huge impact on how that turned out!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grey Fox
Portugal
Sintra
Sintra
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Quote:
The Tournament Phase is a turn-based phase. Players will take turns in clockwise order around the table, each making a single turn. The tournament ends when no players are able to take any more turns


Quote:
If the player is unable to play a Single, they cannot take an Action, and instead Passes


Although the second paragraph seems to imply that you do start a turn but then pass it, the first paragraph changes everything in my opinion.

I'd interpret this as you do not get a turn. As if you rule it that you do start a turn in this situation, then you'd never finish the game since the finishing condition is that all players are unable to take any more turns.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Rouse
United States
Thibodaux
Louisiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! That makes sense to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Harrow
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
CodenameGreyFox wrote:
Quote:
The Tournament Phase is a turn-based phase. Players will take turns in clockwise order around the table, each making a single turn. The tournament ends when no players are able to take any more turns


Quote:
If the player is unable to play a Single, they cannot take an Action, and instead Passes


Although the second paragraph seems to imply that you do start a turn but then pass it, the first paragraph changes everything in my opinion.

I'd interpret this as you do not get a turn. As if you rule it that you do start a turn in this situation, then you'd never finish the game since the finishing condition is that all players are unable to take any more turns.


Indeed. Combined with the second quote, I'd say that you do take a turn on the turn in which you first cannot play a single and Pass, but from then on, the turn order will skip you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GAF Blizzard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
This seems like a pretty important distinction. Has there been an official ruling on whether the first pass is considered a turn for "start of turn" effects?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Talton
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
(╯‵Д′)╯彡┻━┻
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you pass, that takes your entire turn away. You can't do anything or activate any effects during this turn. Only always-on triggers like Top and Ongoing effects continue to work during these turns.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Denis
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kyokai wrote:
When you pass, that takes your entire turn away. You can't do anything or activate any effects during this turn. Only always-on triggers like Top and Ongoing effects continue to work during these turns.


Sorry, but aren't the effects mentioned by the OP Ongoing? Don't have my cards to check right now.

I have a similiar question regarding Kamen, the Masked Priest, so I'm also invested in this thread.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Talton
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
(╯‵Д′)╯彡┻━┻
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In this case, yeah, Donteles continues to remain up and to block other scoring, and he won't flip down for the rest of the tournament.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GAF Blizzard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Kyokai wrote:
When you pass, that takes your entire turn away. You can't do anything or activate any effects during this turn. Only always-on triggers like Top and Ongoing effects continue to work during these turns.

Thanks for chiming in, interesting. So even the FIRST turn you can't play, no "at the start of your turn" triggers happen.

And if you have a way to play cards faster than normal Donteles prevents anyone else from scoring until the Score phase unless they can flip it. Powerful!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GAF Blizzard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Kyokai wrote:
In this case, yeah, Donteles continues to remain up and to block other scoring, and he won't flip down for the rest of the tournament.

Interesting note, for those who missed it -- Donteles has a Top effect which still says "at the start of your next turn, flip this card.".

So even though "at the start of your next turn" is part of an active effect per Brad's earlier post ("Top"), this part of the effect doesn't do anything, because you literally don't have any "turns".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Rouse
United States
Thibodaux
Louisiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's been so long since I posted this that I don't even remember what the cards I mentioned do. I am going to have to dig out the cards some time soon. It sounds like I maybe kind of played it right though, so that is good.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.