Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is placing city from card increasing M€ production? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Artur Biesiadowski
msg tools
If you build city from standard project, in addition for getting city placement bonuses, you increase your M€ production by 1.

Quote:
City: For 25 M€ you get to place a city tile (collect any
placement bonus for the tile, and place a player marker on
it). You also get to increase your M€ production 1 step. (See
page 5)


There is nothing on page 5 about increasing M€ for cities or about increasing M€ in general.

I'm bit confused by the placement of 'see page 5'. If the rule would be

Quote:
City: For 25 M€ you get to place a city tile (collect any
placement bonus for the tile (see page 5), and place a player marker on
it). You also get to increase your M€ production 1 step.


it would be quite obvious, but in the way it is phrased currently, it suggests like getting +1M€ is part of every city placement from page 5 (also one done by cards).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leo Borg
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't see on page 5 that it says you get to raise you money production when placing city tiles.

The only bonus I can see you get are the ones in the text, that is placement bonus printed on place and bonus from placing close to ocean tiles, that is 2 M€ per adjacent ocean tile when placing (a rule I have missed when playing the game).

Quote:
When you place the tile, you receive the placement
bonus printed on that area (if any). You also get a bonus for
placing tiles next to ocean tiles (see below).


Quote:
City tile: May not be placed next to another
city (exception: Noctis city must always be
placed on its reserved area). Add a player marker.
Each city tile is worth 1 VP for each adjacent
greenery tile (regardless of owner) at the end of
the game. (Note: the card Capital places the unique Capital
city tile, which counts and scores like a normal city tile, but
additionally gives you VPs for adjacent ocean tiles, as stated
on the card.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leo Borg
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the reason you get to raise your M€ production when placing city with standard project could be to balance the action/game as it is quite costly otherwise.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isaac Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Oh... yes, you are very right - 'see page 5' is better to place where you suggested. You do not get any extra M€ production for placing a city tile - you get it from performing the 'standard action city'.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Artur Biesiadowski
msg tools
Thanks - it makes sense, when taking huge cost of the action into account.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Baumgardner

Richmond
Virginia
msg tools
Remember you are also getting victory points. A carefully place city can make it worth the cost whether by card or standard action. Getting a city for income is not cost effective. It will take 25 turns for a return on your investment.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.