$20.00
$60.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Others» Forums » Rules

Subject: Envy and giving new Heroes equipment rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Trevis Marlar
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
Envy: Whenever a Hero gains an upgrade card, they may take 1 wound - otherwise, all other Heroes take 1 corruption.
Hero Death: The (new) Hero chooses from all the cards in the Upgrade Inventory the same number of Upgrade cards as his previous Hero discarded, and gives them to thhe new Hero. The common Upgrade Inventory should end up with 5 cards.

So, the new Hero, coming into the game, replacing a Hero that had 4 Upgrades, does he/she take 4 wounds, or give 4 corruption to other Heroes, or any combination, thereof?

My thought is, "Yes".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flavio Santos
Brazil
Brasilia
Distrito Federal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is an official answer here somewhere and it is: no, no one takes any wounds/corruption.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Blasco

Brier
Washington
msg tools
mbmb
The explanation was that when a hero dies, the new hero doesn't "gain" their starting upgrade cards, they are starting with them.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dillon Flaherty
United States
Severna Park
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Flaviorbs wrote:
There is an official answer here somewhere and it is: no, no one takes any wounds/corruption.


This seems to make sense for balancing purposes as well - otherwise Envy would have a much stronger ability than the other sins (that we've played with, at least)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevis Marlar
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
Yep, played a game with Envy, yesterday. Affecting incoming Heroes would let the Sin kill them right off on entry. So, we played the new Heroes as unaffected.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.