Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

War of the Ring: Warriors of Middle-earth» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do Corsairs ignore black (impassible) borders? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric LotR
United States
Rockford
Illinois
flag msg tools
Do corsairs ignore the black impassable borders? If they do not, then it would not be possible for them to reach North Ered Luin even though it is a coastal region on the Western Sea. If they are able to ignore those black borders, then can they also do so while transporting Shadow armies?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Poulter
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
They approach from the sea, so yes they can ignore the border when transporting. Never seen any game where they have gone that far north though.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Dexter
msg tools
mbmbmb
The farthest North I have gotten is South Ered Luin. Not sure what the point of invading North Ered Luin would be. There is a card which allows recruitment of a regular in Ered Luin so if you want to prevent that card you could do it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pawel Garycki
Poland
Gdansk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Corsairs can go pretty north however they will not transport armies when the armies cannot enter a space since there is a requirement that transportation follows all standard movement rules for the transported armies. So corsairs yes, transported armies no.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mailerimp wrote:
Do corsairs ignore the black impassable borders?

They do not, as there is no exception made for them in the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Atanasije Stojkovic
Serbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Krieghund wrote:
mailerimp wrote:
Do corsairs ignore the black impassable borders?

They do not, as there is no exception made for them in the rules.


Di Meglio has clarified; they do.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Williams
Scotland
Elgin
Moray
flag msg tools
mbmb
Sargeras777 wrote:
Krieghund wrote:
mailerimp wrote:
Do corsairs ignore the black impassable borders?

They do not, as there is no exception made for them in the rules.


Di Meglio has clarified; they do.


Clarified where?

If it was in a PM or email, a quote would be appreciated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf B
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Cross-referenced discussion in this thread.

I think the clarification should be worded along these lines to avoid ships sailing over inland mountain ranges (e.g. Lamedon to Minas Tirith, or Druadan Forest to Lamedon):

Corsairs ignore impassable boundaries separating regions that share a coastline.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Upon further review, Corsairs do not ignore impassible borders. It was decided that it wasn't worth the rules exception to allow them access to the far corner of the map.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Umstattd
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
All Hail Lelouch
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Krieghund wrote:
Upon further review, Corsairs do not ignore impassible borders. It was decided that it wasn't worth the rules exception to allow them access to the far corner of the map.


It's more confusing to announce an erreta and then have a different person announce a different erreta. Come on and struck with something. Boats can caul around mountains. It's not that complicated a concept to understand
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roy Subs
Scotland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Think it's quite useful as it's such an edge condition. The solution has to be simple/clear:

- Saying Corsairs cross impassable borders leads to a weird edge condition (see Gondor mountains).
- Saying that Corsairs do not cross impassable borders makes the situation very simple and clear for all situations.

So, "Corsairs do not cross impassable borders" is the better solution (and anyway, this only affects the border between Forlindon / North Ered Luin, and if there are ice flows up there in the cold North, it makes even more sense).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Umstattd
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
All Hail Lelouch
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I suppose that doesn't stop the Shadow Player from shipping units to the Grey Havens. And since Corsairs can't transport units through enemy units you would want to take the Grey Havens first and continuing north wouldn't make sense. You'd wanna go east for the shire.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.