Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
21 Posts

Trickerion: Legends of Illusion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Newbie questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Giacomo Fusetti
Italy
Turate
flag msg tools
mb
Hello,

1. If I send the manager to the market and I buy a component, do I have to place it on the manager board or wherever I want? And if I send someone else to the market, can I place the new component on the manager, or have to wait and use the manager's switch ability?

2. When I go downtown to learn a trick, assuming that I'm learning a trick corresponding to the current dice or to my favorite category, can I take any trick I want, or only the one on top? I suppose any trick I want, but I'm asking just to be sure.

3. After the performance phase, if someone set up tricks on a performance card but no magicians chose that card for his performance, are the tricks removed, or they stay on the card?

4. Does the performer get the link bonus after the performance, even if linked tricks were not his, or just one was his?

5. Can you please explain very clearly what are the characteristics of every specialist?

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastien Maire
France
St Jean de Moirans
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lexpweller wrote:
Hello,

1. If I send the manager to the market and I buy a component, do I have to place it on the manager board or wherever I want? And if I send someone else to the market, can I place the new component on the manager, or have to wait and use the manager's switch ability?


You can put the new component wherever you want, as long as the slot is free. You can't put it on the manager's board if there is already components on it without free spaces. Otherwise it is up to you.

lexpweller wrote:
2. When I go downtown to learn a trick, assuming that I'm learning a trick corresponding to the current dice or to my favorite category, can I take any trick I want, or only the one on top? I suppose any trick I want, but I'm asking just to be sure.


You can chose the trick you want to learn, not only the one which is on top.

lexpweller wrote:
3. After the performance phase, if someone set up tricks on a performance card but no magicians chose that card for his performance, are the tricks removed, or they stay on the card?


All tricks stay on the performance card as long as :
1) the card is not performed by a Magician
2) the card is not off the game (after 3 rounds in a 2p game, 4 rounds in a 3p game and 5 rounds in a 4p game)

lexpweller wrote:
4. Does the performer get the link bonus after the performance, even if linked tricks were not his, or just one was his?


The link bonus you have at the end of a Performance is for the Magician who performed the card only. No matter which tricks were used to make the links (his tricks or not).

However the link bonus you gain when you set up a trick is only for the player that create the link (except for Trickerion's shard bonus).

lexpweller wrote:
5. Can you please explain very clearly what are the characteristics of every specialist?


- Assistant: you have a slot to place an apprentice that will not need to be paid (during the "pay salaries" phase)

- Manager: you have two addtional slots for components, and any component on those slot is considered as if you had one more of it (for instance if you have 1 metal on a Manager's slot, you can consider having 2 metals)

- Engineer: you have an additional slot for Magician trick (you can learn up to 4 tricks instead of 3). When you prepare the trick on the Engineer's slot, you can put 1 additional trick marker.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Turczi
United Kingdom
London
England
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1a. Wherever is fine.
1b. If you have an open slot there, you can place it without the switch.

2. Any trick. The order of the cards in the pile never ever matters.

3. They stay, unless the card is in the rightmost slot, then it falls off together with the card.

4. The owner gets the bonus when placing. The performer gets all bonuses, regardless whose.

5. Manager: Can have extra 2 component slots, where having at least one component counts as one more (to the usual maximum of 4)
Assistant: Can have an extra apprentice. The apprentice on the assistant's board requires no salary.
Engineer: Can have an extra trick. When preparing a trick (usual rules apply) that is on the Engineer's board, place an extra trick marker.

Anything else?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
One small additional point on top of the excellent answers above: as well as the specialists providing different board bonuses (trick slot with bonus for preparation, component slots with bonus for numbers counted, apprentice slot with free deployment) they also have different bonuses when they are back-stage and your magician performs.

If your Manager is backstage you get 3 money.

If your Assistant is backstage you get 2 fame.

If your Engineer is backstage you get a Trickerion shard.

They are also potentially different for the purposes of meeting your Level 36 trick end-game scoring bonuses, if you're using the Dark Alley: there's one trick for each that will give you 7 fame at the end of the game if you have the correct specialist, and ignore the other two specialists.

Beyond those points though, the three specialists are identical!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giacomo Fusetti
Italy
Turate
flag msg tools
mb
Thank you! Great answers.
Oh yes, another question: let's say I have two metals, and I want to prepare two tricks which requires two metals each in the same turn... are my two metals enough, or I need four of them?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastien Maire
France
St Jean de Moirans
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No the 2 pieces of metal are enough.

When you prepare a trick, you don't spend the components. You need to have the components in your supply, that's all. So they don't go back to the general supply once the trick is prepared, they stay on your board.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TDaver wrote:

1b. If you have an open slot there, you can place it without the switch.


I know you're close to the team, so I'm hesitant to be so sceptical about this but, really?

I felt pretty sure you only got to put stuff on your specialists for free if you took the specialist at the beginning of the game? And otherwise you would have to use the action on the specialist's board to move resources, tricks, or an apprentice respectively, on to the relevant board…

Could you get an official confirmation on which interpretation is the correct one?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe there is already official word on this in another thread somewhere in the BGG Trickerion forums.

Finding it is left as an exercise for the reader...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MercifulBiscuit wrote:
I believe there is already official word on this in another thread somewhere in the BGG Trickerion forums.

Finding it is left as an exercise for the reader...


yuk

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon C
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SpecularRain wrote:
TDaver wrote:

1b. If you have an open slot there, you can place it without the switch.


I know you're close to the team, so I'm hesitant to be so sceptical about this but, really?

I felt pretty sure you only got to put stuff on your specialists for free if you took the specialist at the beginning of the game? And otherwise you would have to use the action on the specialist's board to move resources, tricks, or an apprentice respectively, on to the relevant board…

Could you get an official confirmation on which interpretation is the correct one?


I've always understood it to be the way that TDaver describes. Looking through the rulebook, I can't see anything that gives it unambiguously either way, but you do find the following:

1) The specialist boards are considered Player Board Extensions

2) On acquiring something (e.g. components from the market) it says "Acquired components are placed on the component slots of the Player Game Board".

I would (and have) put those points two together to say yes, you can place new stuff directly on the extensions. The actions for swaps should only be used if you want to put a previously acquired thing on the specialist slot, or if you want to do various specific swaps for manipulating things as you go.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MercifulBiscuit wrote:
I believe there is already official word on this in another thread somewhere in the BGG Trickerion forums.

Finding it is left as an exercise for the reader...


I found it

https://boardgamegeek.com/article/21648553#21648553
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

1) The above link is a great reference. I also had misinterpreted that rule and Viktor set everything straight.

2) Getting back to the OP's question... regarding the answers provided above about being able to Learn any trick in the deck, also remember to limit your selection to only those tricks that are within your Fame Threshold. IOW, you can't always search through select from the entire deck.

From the rulebook, page 8:

"You may only learn a Trick if you have equal to, or more Fame points than its Fame Threshold."

Also, you can learn a trick from a higher threshold if you pay the difference. From the rulebook, page 8:

"Matching Fame Thresholds: If you have less Fame than the desired Trick’s Fame Threshold, you may pay the difference in Coins when you use the ‘Learn Trick’ Action to learn it."

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can always search through the entire deck.

I cannot learn a trick unless I meet the Fame threshold or pay the difference.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
I can always search through the entire deck.

I cannot learn a trick unless I meet the Fame threshold or pay the difference.

OK, good point. I stand corrected. I fixed my post to reflect the nuance.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Jeffreys
New Zealand
Christchurch
Canterbury
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TDaver wrote:
5. Manager: Can have extra 2 component slots, where having at least one component counts as one more (to the usual maximum of 4)


The usual maximum is 3, not 4.
Which an important difference when scoring Balsamo's Skull, Stairs of Water, or Skeleton Dance.
The maximum score for each of those is 36, 24, 12 respectively, even if you have a stack of 3 components on the Manager.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bgm1961 wrote:

1) The above link is a great reference. I also had misinterpreted that rule and Viktor set everything straight.

2) Getting back to the OP's question... regarding the answers provided above about being able to Learn any trick in the deck, also remember to limit your selection to only those tricks that are within your Fame Threshold. IOW, you can't always search through select from the entire deck.

From the rulebook, page 8:

"You may only learn a Trick if you have equal to, or more Fame points than its Fame Threshold."

Also, you can learn a trick from a higher threshold if you pay the difference. From the rulebook, page 8:

"Matching Fame Thresholds: If you have less Fame than the desired Trick’s Fame Threshold, you may pay the difference in Coins when you use the ‘Learn Trick’ Action to learn it."



Even corrected this is incorrect, as you then later state.

If I have 36 coins and 0 fame, I can select any trick I want.

I'd drop the "in other words" and let the rules speak.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Well, you seem pretty determined to find fault with what I wrote. So be it. Though I still stand by every word.

Take note that I specifically included the word, "always". I wrote, "...you can't always select from the entire deck." For instance, if you learn a Trick on you first turn, you are not allowed to select a Trick from the level 36 cards, as it's impossible for you to have enough coins at that point in the game to pay the difference.

You can't deny this, and everything I wrote supports this. So please don't claim about my words, "Even corrected this is incorrect".

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giacomo Fusetti
Italy
Turate
flag msg tools
mb
Hello guys, don't want to interrupt but I have another - probably very stupid - question.

Can two performing magicians choose the same performance card? Let's say two players have both a magician performing at the theater (friday and saturday) and an assistant in the backstage. One player manages to put two tricks on a card, and the other one put his only trick on the same card because he want to make a connection. The other performance cards are empty. After the yield payment, does the one performing the second day get anything, in terms of performance bonus (link bonus, specialist bonus, performance card bonus)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope. Once a card is performed, the tricks on it are returned to their respective owners. If you choose to perform late in the week when there's only one performance available, you can't be too surprised to find you don't get a chance to do it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giacomo Fusetti
Italy
Turate
flag msg tools
mb
MercifulBiscuit wrote:
Nope. Once a card is performed, the tricks on it are returned to their respective owners. If you choose to perform late in the week when there's only one performance available, you can't be too surprised to find you don't get a chance to do it.


So, if I'm the Saturday guy and I place five tricks on a card, then the Friday guy places just one trick on the same card, and later chooses to perform that card before me, I don't get anything from the performance - apart from the tricks yield payment? Not even the specialist bonus? After all, I did have someone in the backstage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You only get your yield. Modified by your day bonus or penalty, of course.

Note, though, that you won't ever be able to put five tricks on one day, as you can't schedule the same trick more than once in a single performance. (Yes, I know it was just an example. )
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.