GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

8,520 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Steve Dillon
United States
Spring Lake
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When visiting the Downtown area, could a player use two leftover action points to set an as yet unused die to the "X" side to prevent others from using it?

Let's say a trick has a holding capacity of three (preparing the trick yields three trick tokens on the card for a single action point) and two of those tokens are currently "set up" in the theater on two different performance cards. If a player sends a worker to the workshop to "prepare" more of that trick, are they limited to only placing one more trick token on the card as they only have one remaining in their supply? Or does "preparing the trick" thematically always yield the same 3 "charges" of that trick, and proxy tokens should be used? Or does that card have a maximum holding capacity of three, therefore ony one "proxy" token is used?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastien Maire
France
St Jean de Moirans
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes can do that, even if it is not very "fairplay". But you play the way you want!

2) You can't prepare the trick if there are still trick markers on it. You can only prepare once again the trick when all markers have been placed. If you have already trick markers placed, and so not enough trick markers in your own supply to prepare the trick completely, then you can only prepare the quantity of markers in your supply (you can't use proxy). So you need to think 1 or 2 rounds forward in order to optimize actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias Lunte
Germany
Garrel
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
kakawette wrote:
1) Yes can do that, even if it is not very "fairplay". But you play the way you want!


How is that not fair play? I haven't played it yet (missing the group 'n'), but it's one of the tactics that were pretty obvious just from the rules. It's competitive, but I'd argue one of the prime characteristics of a WP is denying your opponent opportunities.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tobl wrote:
kakawette wrote:
1) Yes can do that, even if it is not very "fairplay". But you play the way you want!


How is that not fair play? I haven't played it yet (missing the group 'n'), but it's one of the tactics that were pretty obvious just from the rules. It's competitive, but I'd argue one of the prime characteristics of a WP is denying your opponent opportunities.


It's absolutely fair play. It's not very friendly though. There's a difference
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kakawette wrote:
2) You can't prepare the trick if there are still trick markers on it. You can only prepare once again the trick when all markers have been placed. If you have already trick markers placed, and so not enough trick markers in your own supply to prepare the trick completely, then you can only prepare the quantity of markers in your supply (you can't use proxy). So you need to think 1 or 2 rounds forward in order to optimize actions.


This is correct

I feel sometimes that the first part of the rule is a bit harsh. If you were allowed to prepare a trick with markers already on it, you would still just get new markers up to the limit, thus getting fewer markers for your spent action points, which could be argued to be punishment enough. On the other hand, getting multiple trick markers from a single preparation is already quite powerful, so the game does feel balanced with the rules as they are.

It can be extremely frustrating though…
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastien Maire
France
St Jean de Moirans
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right, fairplay was not the adequate word. Not friendly is more what I meant (but yes this is a WP game so this is part of the story).
However I am pretty sure there will always be something more interesting to do with a character than only use it to block your opponent without direct benefits (I am sure there are other action spaces where you can block/impact your opponent and gain something).

As I said: you play the way you want
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kakawette wrote:
Right, fairplay was not the adequate word. Not friendly is more what I meant (but yes this is a WP game so this is part of the story).
However I am pretty sure there will always be something more interesting to do with a character than only use it to block your opponent without direct benefits (I am sure there are other action spaces where you can block/impact your opponent and gain something).

As I said: you play the way you want


So, this is Downtown, where interacting with a die costs 3 action points except the other two options of (1) Roll any Die or (2) Set the face of any Die.*

If you have exactly 5 actions on the Downtown space (because you sent your Magician and then got in first unexpectedly) AND the die face you want is already showing...

... then what, exactly, do you propose is the "more interesting" action to take than deliberately setting a non "X" die to "X" with the leftover 2 action points?

A: Reroll/Set the "6" bank die, potentially lowering that die's value or closing it off.
B: Reroll/Set the Specialist die, potentially making it the wrong type for those who follow.
C: Reroll/Set the Trick die, potentially closing off that "?" you don't want showing.

Sure, if you have some way to gain +1 action and take yourself to 2 Die Interactions, then simply using the die and setting it to "X" has the same net effect (denying use of the die to an opponent) while also granting you the benefit... but sometimes you don't have the extra shard and denial is the only option left.
__
* Yes, aware that some things can change the action-cost of that interaction, but most of the time "Interact with a Die" costs 3.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.