Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Commands & Colors: Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Leader evade off board rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Keller
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Leader Evade rule, next to last bullet says: "You may choose to Evade your leader off your side of the battlefield. This saves the leader from becoming a Victory Banner for your opponent but you lose a strong command piece by doing so.

Last bullet says: If a leader cannot Evade a minimum of one hex (due to Impassable terrain) the leader is eliminated and the opponent gains one Victory Banner.

Are the words "(due to Impassable terrain)" merely one example of several (though there is nothing to indicate this is merely an example, such as the use of "e.g."), or are they part of the condition of the rule, specifying that this result (elimination)only occurs due to the condition of Impassable terrain?

Specific situation: If a leader is on the edge of the board and has to evade, is it automatically eliminated or not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laurence Cutner
Canada
Courtice
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
If the leader CAN evade (not blocked by terrain etc.) then he leaves the board and no victory banner is awarded to the opposing side. If he cannot leave the board, then the banner is given.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Miguel
France
Caen
(from Valencia, Spain)
flag msg tools
designer
My latest game: Big*Bang, a simple abstract about the first minutes of the Universe
badge
My best-rated game: Tetrarchia, about the tetrarchy that saved Rome
mbmbmbmbmb
P47 Thunderbolt wrote:
Last bullet says: If a leader cannot Evade a minimum of one hex (due to Impassable terrain) the leader is eliminated and the opponent gains one Victory Banner.

Are the words "(due to Impassable terrain)" merely one example of several (though there is nothing to indicate this is merely an example, such as the use of "e.g."), or are they part of the condition of the rule, specifying that this result (elimination)only occurs due to the condition of Impassable terrain?

Specific situation: If a leader is on the edge of the board and has to evade, is it automatically eliminated or not?

If he is on the edge, then he can evade 1 hex out of the board and nothing can block him (if he were in the 3rd row, for example, he would evade 3 hexes, the 3rd being out).

If his way out of the board is blocked by enemy units, he escapes through them and can leave the board if he survives. If those were friendly units, he could choose to attach to them or keep evading, etc.

So the only thing that can block his evade route for sure is impassable terrain. No evade route (not even 1 hex) = eliminated; evade route (even 1 hex) = may leave the board if able to exit.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McG
Australia
Penshurst
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
P47 Thunderbolt wrote:

Last bullet says: If a leader cannot Evade a minimum of one hex (due to Impassable terrain) the leader is eliminated and the opponent gains one Victory Banner.


Impassable terrain = unfordablr Rivers, Seacoast or Fortified City Walls, or by Scenario Special Rule.


The important part of the rule is that the leader cannot evade 1 hex minimum. So a leader trapped against a River for example is eliminated. The board edge is not impassable (except by SSR).
6 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Keller
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
My thanks to all of you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Len
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
P47 Thunderbolt wrote:
Leader Evade rule, next to last bullet says: "You may choose to Evade your leader off your side of the battlefield. This saves the leader from becoming a Victory Banner for your opponent but you lose a strong command piece by doing so.

Last bullet says: If a leader cannot Evade a minimum of one hex (due to Impassable terrain) the leader is eliminated and the opponent gains one Victory Banner.

Are the words "(due to Impassable terrain)" merely one example of several (though there is nothing to indicate this is merely an example, such as the use of "e.g."), or are they part of the condition of the rule, specifying that this result (elimination)only occurs due to the condition of Impassable terrain?

Specific situation: If a leader is on the edge of the board and has to evade, is it automatically eliminated or not?


Evading is always optional, and never mandatory. In your scenario, the leader never "has" to evade. Evading should not be confused with retreating.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Caleb
United States
Seminole
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
LSMB wrote:
P47 Thunderbolt wrote:
Leader Evade rule, next to last bullet says: "You may choose to Evade your leader off your side of the battlefield. This saves the leader from becoming a Victory Banner for your opponent but you lose a strong command piece by doing so.

Last bullet says: If a leader cannot Evade a minimum of one hex (due to Impassable terrain) the leader is eliminated and the opponent gains one Victory Banner.

Are the words "(due to Impassable terrain)" merely one example of several (though there is nothing to indicate this is merely an example, such as the use of "e.g."), or are they part of the condition of the rule, specifying that this result (elimination)only occurs due to the condition of Impassable terrain?

Specific situation: If a leader is on the edge of the board and has to evade, is it automatically eliminated or not?


Evading is always optional, and never mandatory. In your scenario, the leader never "has" to evade. Evading should not be confused with retreating.


No, leaders do not retreat, they evade and in the case of its unit being eliminated and passing the casualty check or being attacked while alone and not being eliminated, it must evade. It is not optional. Check rules page 18.
8 
 Thumb up
0.10
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Miguel
France
Caen
(from Valencia, Spain)
flag msg tools
designer
My latest game: Big*Bang, a simple abstract about the first minutes of the Universe
badge
My best-rated game: Tetrarchia, about the tetrarchy that saved Rome
mbmbmbmbmb
cannoneer wrote:
No, leaders do not retreat, they evade and in the case of its unit being eliminated and passing the casualty check or being attacked while alone and not being eliminated, it must evade.

Exactly. And those two situations are the only ones that end in leader evasion, which is thus always mandatory.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Len
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cannoneer wrote:
LSMB wrote:
P47 Thunderbolt wrote:
Leader Evade rule, next to last bullet says: "You may choose to Evade your leader off your side of the battlefield. This saves the leader from becoming a Victory Banner for your opponent but you lose a strong command piece by doing so.

Last bullet says: If a leader cannot Evade a minimum of one hex (due to Impassable terrain) the leader is eliminated and the opponent gains one Victory Banner.

Are the words "(due to Impassable terrain)" merely one example of several (though there is nothing to indicate this is merely an example, such as the use of "e.g."), or are they part of the condition of the rule, specifying that this result (elimination)only occurs due to the condition of Impassable terrain?

Specific situation: If a leader is on the edge of the board and has to evade, is it automatically eliminated or not?


Evading is always optional, and never mandatory. In your scenario, the leader never "has" to evade. Evading should not be confused with retreating.


No, leaders do not retreat, they evade and in the case of its unit being eliminated and passing the casualty check or being attacked while alone and not being eliminated, it must evade. It is not optional. Check rules page 18.


You, sir, are correct! What I posted was exactly wrong. Thanks for the correction!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.