Steve Dillon
United States
Spring Lake
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm assuming that when you hire an assistant, it does not come with a 0 cost apprentice. You must spend an action to move an apprentice over to that slot.

Two questions.

Can any worker use that action? Could I place my magician in the downtown area and use a leftover action point to transfer the apprentice? Or does it have to be the Assistant that takes that action to move the apprentice?

Can that transfer happen AFTER the apprentice has been assigned for the round? Could I in theory, place my only apprentice in the market, and then on my next turn, place my Assistant somewhere and with a leftover action point transfer the market assignment card of the apprentice to the "free" slot next to the Assistant?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes and yes. But there's no real benefit to the second - you move assistant and card to the slot, so it's not as if you can get an extra action out of it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Dillon
United States
Spring Lake
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
First of all.. Thanks for answering! After posting I found in the rulebook where it says ANY character can take the transfer action.

The potential benefit is that I can use the apprentice on my first turn (if I was first in player order) to lock up a space with extra actions on it and secure what I wanted without having to utilize my magician or assistant. Then on subsequent turns, I am able to use the magician and assistant with their inherent extra action points more effectively, and when I have a leftover action point at the end of my last placement, THEN move the assignment card under the apprenctice slot to the "free apprentice" slot with the assistant, saving me money at the end of the round. If this was not allowed (i.e. The apprenctice disc must still be un-used to be transferred), I would have to use either the assistant or magician first, and used an action point to move the apprentice over, effectively costing me a future action point. This is because the maximum action point slots on the board are taken by the time my turn rolls around again, making the apprentice less powerful.

Maybe I'm overthinking it.

Or maybe my logic is just wrong...

Either way, thanks again!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Combs
United States
Spring Lake Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dr_steve_dillon wrote:
I'm assuming that when you hire an assistant, it does not come with a 0 cost apprentice. You must spend an action to move an apprentice over to that slot.

Two questions.

Can any worker use that action? Could I place my magician in the downtown area and use a leftover action point to transfer the apprentice? Or does it have to be the Assistant that takes that action to move the apprentice?

Can that transfer happen AFTER the apprentice has been assigned for the round? Could I in theory, place my only apprentice in the market, and then on my next turn, place my Assistant somewhere and with a leftover action point transfer the market assignment card of the apprentice to the "free" slot next to the Assistant?


Any worker sent to the WORKSHOP can move an Apprentice to the Assistant's Apprentice slot. Moving stuff between Specialist boards and your Workshop board is a Workshop action. Left over action points at other locations can not be used to take the move action of the Specialist Boards.

If you move an Apprentice (by sending a worker to the WORKSHOP) that has already been assigned for the round, just move their assignment card to the Assistant's Apprentice slot and you won't have to pay their wage at the end of the round.

Remember, if you have the Assistant with an empty Apprentice slot, when you hire a new Apprentice you can place it directly on the Assistant's Apprentice slot. A lot of people seem to forget this rule. The same goes with learning new tricks and the Engineer's board, and buying new resources and the Manager's board.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dirk Rieberghs
Belgium
Turnhout
-- Maak uw keuze --
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dhc3po wrote:


Any worker sent to the WORKSHOP can move an Apprentice to the Assistant's Apprentice slot. Moving stuff between Specialist boards and your Workshop board is a Workshop action. Left over action points at other locations can not be used to take the move action of the Specialist Boards.


This is the only correct answer !!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dhc3po wrote:
Remember, if you have the Assistant with an empty Apprentice slot, when you hire a new Apprentice you can place it directly on the Assistant's Apprentice slot. A lot of people seem to forget this rule. The same goes with learning new tricks and the Engineer's board, and buying new resources and the Manager's board.


In my case, it wasn't about forgetting, but rather interpretation. In the first edition rulebook, I don't think this is very clearly stated anywhere. But either way, this has been confirmed by the designers: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/21648553#21648553
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giacomo Fusetti
Italy
Turate
flag msg tools
mb
So:

1. if I want to move apprentices, components or tricks from the assistant's board to the mainboard, or viceversa, I have to use leftover points from the Prepare action on the Workshop, or place a token on the Workshop and use its action points to perform the move action.

I can't find this specifically stated on the rulebook, but I suppose one should get it because move actions are listed under the Workshop section.

2. question regarding the assistant: I understand he/she comes without the free assistant, and that you have to hire one or move one there. But what if I wait till the Return Characters phase at the end of the turn, and I just return an used apprentice to the assistant board instead the main board? Is it illegal?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Combs
United States
Spring Lake Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lexpweller wrote:
So:

1. if I want to move apprentices, components or tricks from the assistant's board to the mainboard, or viceversa, I have to use leftover points from the Prepare action on the Workshop, or place a token on the Workshop and use its action points to perform the move action.

I can't find this specifically stated on the rulebook, but I suppose one should get it because move actions are listed under the Workshop section.

2. question regarding the assistant: I understand he/she comes without the free assistant, and that you have to hire one or move one there. But what if I wait till the Return Characters phase at the end of the turn, and I just return an used apprentice to the assistant board instead the main board? Is it illegal?


1. Also, the color of the box around the actions on the specialist boards are the same color as the workshop assignment cards. Downtown actions are a pale yellow, Market Row are Orange, Theater are red, Dark Ally are Black, and Workshop are pink.

2. That is not legal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giacomo Fusetti
Italy
Turate
flag msg tools
mb
dhc3po wrote:

1. Also, the color of the box around the actions on the specialist boards are the same color as the workshop assignment cards. Downtown actions are a pale yellow, Market Row are Orange, Theater are red, Dark Ally are Black, and Workshop are pink.
2. That is not legal.


This game needs an official FAQ page desperately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nisses Clan Skryre
Belgium
Gent
flag msg tools
mbmb
lexpweller wrote:
dhc3po wrote:

1. Also, the color of the box around the actions on the specialist boards are the same color as the workshop assignment cards. Downtown actions are a pale yellow, Market Row are Orange, Theater are red, Dark Ally are Black, and Workshop are pink.
2. That is not legal.


This game needs an official FAQ page desperately.


Maybe so, but that 2. is explicitly mentioned in the rulebook
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.