GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

9,666 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Forbidden Stars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dread Ritual Quandary rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Skyler Swank
United States
Dubuque
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This scenario came up in our play group and we found it rather interesting. Let us know how you think we did on our ruling.

Scenario
The soon-to-be active system tile holds two planets diagonally adjacent to each other. Both of these planets are uncontrolled. The only space containing any units is the void adjacent to both of these planets. These units are two Chaos ships. The chaos player goes to resolve his order token placed in this system. The order is a deploy token. He knows he is unable to purchase and place units or structures on either planet as he has no planetary control. He does, however, have the Dread Ritual order upgrade. Can he opt to resolve the Deploy Order to activate Dread Ritual's ability?

We ruled that he could do so as a)there were units present in the active system, and b)deploy states that you may perform either purchases. We reasoned that he could opt out of purchasing units and structures to successfully resolve the order token and provide him with the opportunity to utilize Dread Ritual's ability. We did recognize, however, through the Official Errata that he would be limited to placing this purchased unit in a friendly area and therefore limiting him to a ship as his only purchase option.

Deploy, Rules Reference

1. Purchase Units: If the active player has a factory in the active system, he may purchase units and place them on any friendly or uncontrolled areas in that system.

2. Purchase Structure: The active player may purchase one structure and place it on a friendly world in the active system.

Errata

Rules Reference, p. 6, “Deploy Order” should contain the following bullet point: “A factory is not required when a player purchases a unit or structure as a result of a card or faction ability effect.”

Chaos order upgrade card, “Dread Ritual” should read: “After you resolve this order, you may purchase 1 unit of command level 2 or less and place it on a friendly area in the active system. Reduce that unit’s materiel cost by 1 for each Cultist in that system.“
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Tan
Malaysia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup seems like you are right.
He can only purchase ships, as Dread Ritual limits the player to buying units, in a FRIENDLY area, and no factory required.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Genestealer Patriarch
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you played it correctly. Neither planet not factory is necessary when resolving a deploy order with Dread Ritual, if there is a void with one or more of your ships in it. You are still resolving the regular part of the deploy order first, just not actually spending materiel or building anything; then you resolve the special part of the order due to Dread Ritual.

In terms of background, your armies are mystically "summoning" a unit from elsewhere in the galaxy rather than building one in a factory.

Note that you could even resolve a "normal" deploy order in a system containing only ships, but you would never want to do so, since you can't build anything with it. In that case you would be better off just placing the token on your event deck instead.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.