tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb
jonb wrote:

Except that they don't send them money.

Sure they do. HBO is a paid for service. As is Comedy Central.

Just because the money flow isn't as direct doesn't mean it isn't happening.

John Oliver makes something like 2 million a year. And nobody makes a big deal out of his getting rich peddling his messages.

Now I agree with about half of what he usually is asserting, and he is petty funny even when I think he is wrong. This was a very well done piece. But can we not pretend that his profession is NOT highly monetarily driven?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Me nah play no 'ide and seek
United States
Lincoln
NE
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
jonb wrote:
Drew1365 wrote:

Except of course when he does ask for money in order to mock televangelists.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Chambers
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Meerkat wrote:
jonb wrote:

Sure they do. HBO is a paid for service. As is Comedy Central.

Just because the money flow isn't as direct doesn't mean it isn't happening.

John Oliver makes something like 2 million a year. And nobody makes a big deal out of his getting rich peddling his messages.

Now I agree with about half of what he usually is asserting, and he is petty funny even when I think he is wrong. This was a very well done piece. But can we not pretend that his profession is NOT highly monetarily driven?

If you don't understand the difference between a salaried employee and a pastor guilting/begging for money, well, I got nuthin.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mb
jonb wrote: