$5.00
$20.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Dragon & Flagon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Move & knockback rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Kern
Germany
Kenzingen
flag msg tools
Following question:

Is it legal to move in the space from another Charakter to push him back?
In the rules you can read this:

Two Characters in a Square
There can only be one character in each square. If there are ever two characters in the same square, treat it as a Knockback, and follow that procedure.

If you look in the description about the move-action you'll find nothing
about this situation.

For me it sounds not forbidden to move into another character to push him back.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Davies
United Kingdom
Haddenham
Buckinghamshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say it's not allowed - otherwise the move action would have a knockback arrow on it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Kern
Germany
Kenzingen
flag msg tools
sounds basicly right, but...

Swing has not the knockback symbol, too.
On page 12 you can read that you can end the swing move
at the characters place, which will give you the knockback effect.

So it looks like the knockback symbol (arrow) is not mandatory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoffrey Engelstein
United States
Bridgewater
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
The Fog of War! Available now!
badge
Ludology Host and Dice Tower Contributor
mbmbmbmbmb
Gamedo wrote:
Following question:

Is it legal to move in the space from another Charakter to push him back?
In the rules you can read this:

Two Characters in a Square
There can only be one character in each square. If there are ever two characters in the same square, treat it as a Knockback, and follow that procedure.

If you look in the description about the move-action you'll find nothing
about this situation.

For me it sounds not forbidden to move into another character to push him back.


It's not allowed on Move or Dash. This is specifically noted in the rules.

You may not enter a square that contains another character (EXCEPTION: Swing and Arr!).
(page 8)

The rule you note is meant to handle weird situations that might crop up that put two characters into the same square, not license to do it voluntarily.

Swing is special, as mentioned in the rule - If you land in the same square as someone you push them back. We left the Knockback symbol off since you don't knockback the people you pass over, just the square you land in. The details are in the Card Almanac.

Fun Historical Note: For a very long time, you could move into the same square as another character and start a 'shoving match'. You'd basically roll dice and high roll would take the square. We got rid of it for a few reasons:

1. We didn't need the dice for anything else

2. The more we tested the more we realized that knocking someone out of a square is REALLY powerful. Way more so than most people realize at first (including the designers). A bunch of other abilities used to include knockback, like thrown chairs, but it really messes people up, so we reined it way, way, in. Being able to use MOVE to cause a knockback (even if it might mess up the moving player) did not help the gameplay.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Kern
Germany
Kenzingen
flag msg tools
Ok, trank you for the clarification :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.