Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wilson Richards and Monterey Jack special actions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wilson Richards special action:

Action: Gain 1 Asset of your choice with value 1 from the reserve; or discard 1 card from the reserve and perform 1 additional action.

What are Wilsons options with this action? Is it:

(A) Gain one asset according text without an additional action.
(B) Discard 1 asset from the reserve and perform one addition action.

Or is it:

(A) Gain one asset according text and perform one addition action.
(B) Discard 1 asset from the reserve and perform one addition action.

The ";" is what irritates me here. In the german translation of this investigator, the ";" is skipped, what is even more irritating.

The same question arises with Monterey Jack, who has the following special action:

Action: You may discard 1 Artifact to retreat Doom by 1; or discard the top card of the Expedition Encounter deck and perform 1 additional action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
The first variants, semicolon indeed separates the 2 options you have.

Edit: If you were supposed to get an action in both cases, it would probably use a wording along the lines of "Do a or do b. Then do c."
Source: having read a lot of EH cards.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysiek Domański
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
Wilson Richards special action:

Action: Gain 1 Asset of your choice with value 1 from the reserve; or discard 1 card from the reserve and perform 1 additional action.

What are Wilsons options with this action? Is it:

(A) Gain one asset according text without an additional action.
(B) Discard 1 asset from the reserve and perform one addition action.
This is the correct interpretation.

Hermjard wrote:
The ";" is what irritates me here.
Well, it's a completely correct use of the semicolon.

Hermjard wrote:
The same question arises with Monterey Jack
Same question, same answer.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davy Ashleydale
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It would have been more clear if it had been worded:

Action: Choose one. Gain 1 Asset of your choice with value 1 from the Reserve. Or Discard 1 card from the Reserve and perform one additional action.

Especially if they're going to leave off the semi-colon in some editions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.