Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Codex: Card-Time Strategy – Deluxe Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Overpower rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Travis Perry
United States
Red Lion
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mb
Am I correct in assuming that when an attacking unit with Overpower attacks one unit and cascades the remaining damage to another unit, the attacker receives no combat damage from the second unit? Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rabid Schnauzer
msg tools
Kusanagi888 wrote:
Am I correct in assuming that when an attacking unit with Overpower attacks one unit and cascades the remaining damage to another unit, the attacker receives no combat damage from the second unit? Thanks.


That is correct, the unit with Overpower only suffers combat damage from the patroller attacked and not from any additional unit/hero that the overpower damage cascades to.

Although it is possible for cascading overpower damage to trigger other effects which are not combat damage -- such as Crash Bomber or Captured Bugblatter's abilities.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Perry
United States
Red Lion
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mb
Nice, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Churchill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambs
flag msg tools
designer
"If we knew what we were building, it wouldn't be called research!"
badge
Sufficiently advanced mathematics is indistinguishable from magic
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A related followup question. Presumably, therefore, it's possible for a unit with both flying and overpower (Void Star) to attack a ground patroller without anti-air, then send the overpower damage to an air patroller, all the time without taking any return combat damage?

E.g. ground Squad Leader, air Scavenger, Void Star can attack the SQL and overpower the Scavenger without taking any damage.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Perry
United States
Red Lion
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mb
alextfish wrote:
A related followup question. Presumably, therefore, it's possible for a unit with both flying and overpower (Void Star) to attack a ground patroller without anti-air, then send the overpower damage to an air patroller, all the time without taking any return combat damage?

E.g. ground Squad Leader, air Scavenger, Void Star can attack the SQL and overpower the Scavenger without taking any damage.


Based on what was written above, I would call that a legal maneuver though I'm obviously far from an expert.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rabid Schnauzer
msg tools
alextfish wrote:
A related followup question. Presumably, therefore, it's possible for a unit with both flying and overpower (Void Star) to attack a ground patroller without anti-air, then send the overpower damage to an air patroller, all the time without taking any return combat damage?

E.g. ground Squad Leader, air Scavenger, Void Star can attack the SQL and overpower the Scavenger without taking any damage.


Yes this is legal.

Relevant Text from the Rules Questions Thread on the Sirlin Games Site Forums wrote:

If you attack with a Void Star (5/4, Flying, Overpower). The defender has a non-flying unit without anti-air in Squad Lead, a Flying unit in Technician, and a non-flying unit with anti-air not patrolling. Each of their units has 2 HP and no damage.
The Void Star can attack either the Squad Lead, or fly over the Squad Lead to attack the flying Technician. You can't attack anything behind the patrol zone because the flying Technician blocks your path. If you attack the Squad Lead, the 3 overpower damage must be dealt to the Technician. Overpower damage must be dealt to another thing you "could have attacked", and because the Technician has flying it blocks your path to other targets. If you attacked the Technician instead, you could choose to deal the 3 overpower damage to the Squad Lead, the non-patrolling unit, or something else like a base or tech building. Any of those are things you "could have attacked" once the flying patroller was eliminated. Note that if you choose to deal the overpower damage to something with anti-air, you do not take anti-air damage back. That's part of the general rule that things hit by Overpower damage don't get to hit back.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.