$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

18MEX» Forums » Rules

Subject: [18Mex-Rules] Token of Company other than NdM in Mexico City rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Occu Pant
United States
Clive
Iowa
flag msg tools
18Mex Rules wrote:
4.3.2(c): In each city that is the home of a company which has not yet placed its home station (including major and minor companies which have not yet operated, but not including any major or minor company that has been removed from play as a result of 5.2 or 5.3), one circle must be left open for that purpose.


Does this operate similar to the station restrictions in 1862? Whereby a company other than NdM could drop a station in Mexico City during Phase 2 because NdM is prohibited from forming, floating, and operating until after Phase 3.5 (when the green Mexico City tile would be available or already played leaving the reserved spot for the NdM token in Mexico City)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Koppang
United States
Westmont
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
"It's a magical world, Hobbes, ol' buddy..."
badge
"For the listener, who listens in the snow, and, nothing himself, beholds nothing that is not there and the nothing that is." -- Wallace Stevens
mbmbmbmbmb
As I read the rule, I don't think so. 5.2 and 5.3 don't apply to the NdM; therefore, you have to leave a circle open at all times. There is nothing to say that someone must upgrade Mexico City before the NdM opens, and so it makes sense that you have to leave a space available.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Begy
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
http://www.jasonbegy.com
badge
http://www.jasonbegy.com
mbmbmbmbmb
This rule (that you have to leave an option station spot for an unstarted company) is pretty standard.

1862 is the only derivation from that norm that I know of.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Jaffe
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mb
1831 also has an exception to the reserved space rule, in fact, 1831 specifies you can fill the space, and then the designated owner sits on the side as an extra token.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.