GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

8,520 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Room 25» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about sliding rooms rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bryan Becker
United States
Yardley
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, if columns are 1-5 rows are A-E. Player 1 is on B2, player 2 is on E2, Player 3 is on C2.

Player 1 (On B2)does a room shift to the right. For that turn Row B is now locked in movement so it can only move right. Player 1 is now in position B3.

Player 2 (On E2) does a room shift up. Column 2 is now locked in movement up. Player 2 is now in position D2, Player 3 moves to B2.

Player 3 (Now on position B2) is in a position where Row B is locked in to only move right, but Column 2 is locked to only move up. What way does 3 move the board if they picked a control action?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One of the legal ways (right or up).

Column and row shift directions are locked, not the shift direction of individual tiles.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Becker
United States
Yardley
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That brings up an interesting point then.. Player 1 is on B2, Player 2 is on B1.

Player 1 makes a control action and shifts right. Player 1 is now on B3, player 2 is on B2.

Can player 2 take a control action and shift up? If the *tile* isn't locked into a direction, and Column 2 hasn't had it's direction chosen, is the fact the Row B is locked in a direction a factor on B2's movement only in that they can't shift the row back to the left?

If so.. we played wrong, and I sort of cheated. I shifted a row specifically to lock another tile in the row's direction to prevent it from shifting up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly Bass
United States
Venice
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
xbeaker wrote:
That brings up an interesting point then.. Player 1 is on B2, Player 2 is on B1.

Player 1 makes a control action and shifts right. Player 1 is now on B3, player 2 is on B2.

Can player 2 take a control action and shift up? If the *tile* isn't locked into a direction, and Column 2 hasn't had it's direction chosen, is the fact the Row B is locked in a direction a factor on B2's movement only in that they can't shift the row back to the left?
Yes, Player 2 can take a control action and shift that column up.
While a row or column is locked in a direction, this only prevents a control action from moving it in the opposite direction.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you reveal the Control action you must choose either a row or a column you're on (other than the center row or column). If the selected row/column has been shifted this round, it is shifted in the same direction, otherwise you choose a direction and perform the shift.

This brings a question into my mind though. The center row/column cannot be shifted, but is it still a valid choice in case you don't want to shift the perpendicular column/row into the locked direction? The rules is not clear due to word choice, but I would say no, and that's how we have played.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Becker
United States
Yardley
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have to agree. That is a hard no, you can never shift a center row or column. So if you are on row B and get shifted from B2 to B3 by another player, you are stuck shifting to the right as up or down would break the rule preventing you from shifting the entrance.
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.