Sorry if this has been covered before but there are 347 rules questions to sort thru, if i level up a hero, villager etc, do i keep those exp points tokens or pay them to the bank of exp tokens? So if i have 5 exp points, a leveling up costs 4, do i still have 5 exp points or 1? Thanks
You would have 1 XP left.
The rules use phrases such as "spend any XP" and "pay the XP". I take that to mean you discard the XP to pay for the Level Up.
EDIT: I just noticed you said "level up a hero, villager etc". You can only level up Heroes (Note: Regulars are Heroes). You don't use XP on any other card.
EDIT: In the Worlds Collide Rules, the example on Page 14 says "She pays 2 XP to level up her Lorigg Thief, returning the spent XP to the XP pile."