$30.00
$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Forbidden Stars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Adding units in battle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sascha Landes
Germany
flag msg tools
Hello dear Geeks,
when I start a battle, and I already have 5 units on the planet, is it allowed to add further ones through card abilities (i.e. Landing Pods or more Cultist etc.), so having more than five in that battle? Is this limit for movement only?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
"If a player has a number of units in an area that exceeds that
area’s unit capacity, he must destroy units of his choice in
that area until the number of units is equal to or less than the
area’s unit capacity. This is only checked after resolving an
order and at the end of each Event Phase." (RR, p.13)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Flierl
Germany
flag msg tools
In short: yes, you are right.

Card effects may add additional units beyond the max. 5 attacking units limit.

Same applies to the reinforcement tokens (max. 3 overall or max 1 per plastic unit) when initiating combat. During combat card effects may add additional tokens beyond these limits.

After the combat, excess units and all tokens are removed from the board.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dam the Man wrote:
"If a player has a number of units in an area that exceeds that
area’s unit capacity, he must destroy units of his choice in
that area until the number of units is equal to or less than the
area’s unit capacity. This is only checked after resolving an
order and at the end of each Event Phase.
" (RR, p.13)
As per the highlighted section this doesn't apply while the combat is ongoing.

The relevant rule part for this question is the 4th bullet of the combat section on page 4:
Quote:
A contested area cannot contain more than five attacking units at the start of combat.
The part I highlighted is important since nothing else limits you to 5 units during combat.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Landes
Germany
flag msg tools
Thank you all, thought so, but didn´t know for sure. Now, I do!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.