Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Concordia: Gallia / Corsica» Forums » Rules

Subject: Use Colonist to Place New Colonist in Any City with House? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In all the Concordia versions, Tribune is limited to placing new Colonists in specified cities:
- Imperium: Roma
- Italia: Roma
- Britannia: Londinium (land), Portus Itius (sea)
- Germania: Basilia or Colonia Aggripina
- Byzantium: Byzantium
- Hispania: Saguntum
- Corsica: Aleria
- Gallia: Lutetia

In most of the game, Colonist allows one to place a new Colonist either in one of those cities (with no land/sea limitation in Britannia) or in any city in which one has a house:
- Imperium/Italia: 'inside “Roma” or inside any other city where the player owns a house.'
- Britannia: besides the start cities, 'you may also place new colonists inside any city where you own a house.'
- Germania: 'New Colonists may be placed in your own cities, BASILIA or COLONIA AGRIPPINA.'
- Byzantium, Hispania: the new start cities 'replace “Roma“ in the text of ... Colonist.'

(The last one leverages the original text from Imperium/Italia.)

But the rules for Corsica and Gallia make no mention of cities in which you own a house, mentioning only Aleria and Lutetia, respectively.

In these versions, can one use Colonist to build outside either of the start cities?

Admittedly, the rules text in these cases is combined for Colonist and Tribune (the latter always limited to the start cities), so maybe the Colonist case was an inadvertent omission.

Also, the rules use the word "may" (e.g., "New Colonists may be placed in ALERIA"), suggesting that this might be in addition to your own cities.

But the write-up does seem different from the other rules.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PD-Verlag
Germany
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
With the COLONIST card you can always build new colonists in your own cities or in the starting city/cities. This applys for any scenario/map.
16 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan (NE2)
msg tools
Frank Lamprecht wrote:
With the COLONIST card you can always build new colonists in your own cities or in the starting city/cities. This applys for any scenario/map.

Indeed. The starting city is an oft-missed option, since it appears only in the rulebook, not on the card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.