Subject: The Most Powerful Character Combo Possible? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J A
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
Hello fellow Andor enthusiasts,

This may seem obvious to some seasoned Andor players, but it has occurred to me (I am fairly new to this game) that possibly the most powerful character combination & setup in the base game is:

- a helm-equipped Warrior with a maxed-out dice pool (all 4 blue dice) combined with the Wizard's special power (needless to say, the Wiz should preferably always be equipped with the 3 Runestones). The Warrior can rise quickly in Willpower thanks to her/his special ability.

This setup makes the Warrior particularly powerful: when she/he casts his 4 dice, there are good odds that he will roll doubles, possibly triples (of the same value), and in group combat if the Wizard is at hand she/he can flip 1 of the Warrior's blue dice (blue 1s, 2s, or 3s), giving the Warrior better odds of ending up with triples, even 4 same-valued dice. If the Warrior has a Helm, she/he can add all the dice up, yielding a very high individual combat value (triples: 12/15/18, and however improbable as it may seem, up to 24! Even the Wiz can't beat that!)

And if the Warrior rolls none, or only low-value doubles, then at least the Wizard can use her/his special ability on her own Black die.

I would welcome your comments : has your experience shown this to be the case? Are there other character setups and/or combos that you like or think are especially powerful?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corey Hopkins
United States
Converse
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I like Wizard + rune stones best in the base game, because you can count on hitting a 10 or 12 every time. The helmet is nice, but needs luck to work. I would give the Warrior a witch's brew as backup.