$5.00
$20.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Cry Havoc» Forums » Rules

Subject: Matrix and Max 3 Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Szymas
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's a quick question: the Matrix says max 3 cards can be stored on it. Based on my understanding of the FAQ, this is not 3 cards per matrix built, but total for all Matrices(sp?). Is that correct?

If so, the only reason you would build a second Matrix is to keep harvesting cards if your first matrix gets taken over, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mathias
United States
Hendersonville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AndySzy wrote:
Here's a quick question: the Matrix says max 3 cards can be stored on it. Based on my understanding of the FAQ, this is not 3 cards per matrix built, but total for all Matrices(sp?). Is that correct?

If so, the only reason you would build a second Matrix is to keep harvesting cards if your first matrix gets taken over, right?


Yes 3 total.

FAQ, pg 2 wrote:
Regardless of the number of Matrix structures built, you may never store more than 3 cards on the Matrix. If you draw a 4th card, you may decide which 3 to keep. Return un-kept cards to the bottom of the appropriate deck. If you activate more than one Matrix Structure in a turn, fully resolve one before resolving the next.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark von Minden
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AndySzy wrote:
If so, the only reason you would build a second Matrix is to keep harvesting cards if your first matrix gets taken over, right?

Remember a structure can only be activated once per turn. However, if you have multiple Matrix structures built, I believe you can activate them all in a turn (assuming you had enough build points, that is).

For example, let's say you have no cards under the Matrix and 3 Matrix structures on the board that could be activated at the start of your turn. You could play 3 build points worth of cards to activate them all and completely fill up the Matrix as one action.

NOTE: I haven't actually played the game yet (first game tonight!), but I believe this is how it would work.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Swannack
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
I had assumed you'd need to control a matrix to use your matrix cards, so I figured you might build another to make it provide safety to your ability to employ the cards. Is that correct?

(I guess with moving city this isn't necessarily a huge threat, but still a possible concern.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
porousnapkin wrote:
I had assumed you'd need to control a matrix to use your matrix cards, so I figured you might build another to make it provide safety to your ability to employ the cards. Is that correct?

(I guess with moving city this isn't necessarily a huge threat, but still a possible concern.)


I answered this elsewhere -- you need to control the Matrix to GET cards. You do NOT need to control it to USE the cards. Treat them like tokens, like artillery.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.