Sorry if this has been asked and answered before, but, once Syzygy has Awakened, can you at that point ONLY attempt the Final mystery, or, can you also continue to attempt 'normal' mysteries, including the one that was already in progress if the card was flipped owing to the accumulation of Eldritch Tokens on the Omen Track, and then possibly subsequent ones too.
I ask because a significant number of the 'Sealing the Portal' Encounters allow a bonus to tests based on the number of resolved Mysteries. This would seem to suggest that there is in theory a benefit to continuing to solve more Mysteries after Awakening - but is there a specific ruling on whether this is or isn't allowed?
Thanks for any help.
We had the same question when playing it, and I believe the existing Mysteries stay in play and can be completed because no rule in the general rules for awakening the AO, or Syzygy's specific instructions tell you to remove the existing mysteries. They just provide a final mystery that becomes the way you win the game. Note though that Syzygy's Awakens Effect (which allows you to put clues on him for completed mysteries) would not let you put clues on him for Mysteries solved after he awakens, because that effect has passed. It would some encounters easier though as you note.
I believe this interpretation is further supported implicitly by the FAQ:
"Q. When playing against Syzygy, do investigators need to solve two
Mysteries to win the game?
A. No. When the Syzygy Ancient One sheet is flipped, one
Clue will be placed on the Ancient One sheet for each solved
Mystery. However, the Sealing the Portal Special Encounters
will also place Clues on the Ancient One sheet.
Solving the Mysteries is not required to attempt the Special
Encounters or win the game. However, solving Mysteries
greatly reduces the difficulty of the Final Mystery."