$5.00
$30.00
$20.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Invading pre-warp civs? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Disgustipater
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you do a planetary invasion on a pre-warp civilization? The rules seem to imply that you can only colonize it, but you never know. This would essentially mean you would have to wait a full turn before getting the resources on it.

Seems weird that you can't invade a system with no defenses.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Stevenson
msg tools
mbmbmb
The rules state it is only the first person to colonize is the one who gets the resources on a pre-warp civ. This is odd from a thematic standpoint.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Warnken
United States
Harrison
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
badge
Happy grandfather!!!
mbmbmbmbmb
You can only evade a planet that has nodes on it. Under planetary invasions when you destroy all the nodes on a planet the invasion ends and you have to colonize it.

According to the rulebook pre-warp civilizations do not have any usable infrastructure. Also if you allowed players to invade a pre-warp civilization couldn't they also invade a virgin world?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
invading means taking over the existing colony infrastructure

with pre-warp civs, there simply isnt enough infrastructure, even while there is people present.
so you have to send colonists to build the needed infrastructure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nova Cat
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
You cannot invade a pre-warp civilization. You can only invade developed systems, and pre-warps are not developed, since they do not have any resource nodes. Think of them more as Virgin+, since you can only colonize them, but you get a bonus for doing so.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Schenck
United States
Dayton
Ohio
flag msg tools
GO BUCKS!
badge
Stop touching me!
mbmbmbmbmb
Novacat wrote:
You cannot invade a pre-warp civilization. You can only invade developed systems, and pre-warps are not developed, since they do not have any resource nodes. Think of them more as Virgin+, since you can only colonize them, but you get a bonus for doing so.

Yep, think of them as Virgin+ worlds for everyone but the Federation player. For non-Feds, they're even better than Virgin worlds. For the Feds, they're much worse -- because they're untouchable by the Federation until a different player colonizes there. Then the Feds can freely invade/hegemony the other player.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nova Cat
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
cbs42 wrote:
Novacat wrote:
You cannot invade a pre-warp civilization. You can only invade developed systems, and pre-warps are not developed, since they do not have any resource nodes. Think of them more as Virgin+, since you can only colonize them, but you get a bonus for doing so.

Yep, think of them as Virgin+ worlds for everyone but the Federation player. For non-Feds, they're even better than Virgin worlds. For the Feds, they're much worse -- because they're untouchable by the Federation until a different player colonizes there. Then the Feds can freely invade/hegemony the other player.

Minor correction: The Federation cannot invade anyone.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maldus Alver

Washington
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Novacat wrote:
cbs42 wrote:
Novacat wrote:
You cannot invade a pre-warp civilization. You can only invade developed systems, and pre-warps are not developed, since they do not have any resource nodes. Think of them more as Virgin+, since you can only colonize them, but you get a bonus for doing so.

Yep, think of them as Virgin+ worlds for everyone but the Federation player. For non-Feds, they're even better than Virgin worlds. For the Feds, they're much worse -- because they're untouchable by the Federation until a different player colonizes there. Then the Feds can freely invade/hegemony the other player.

Minor correction: The Federation cannot invade anyone.

Yup, Klingons will say easy conquest and Romulans will say more subjects for the Empire. Cardasians will be all over it and so will the Ferengie will say we will give you technology for latinum.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Ascher
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Where are you getting that the federation cannot invade anyone? Doesn't the player board just say they cannot invade primitive (pre-warp) civs?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Holmstrom
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
moonwaltz7 wrote:
Where are you getting that the federation cannot invade anyone? Doesn't the player board just say they cannot invade primitive (pre-warp) civs?


The Prime Directive. Federation may not invade planets or colonize pre-warp civs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nova Cat
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
moonwaltz7 wrote:
Where are you getting that the federation cannot invade anyone? Doesn't the player board just say they cannot invade primitive (pre-warp) civs?

It says they cannot invade planets or colonize pre-warp civilizations. No one can invade a pre-warp civilization.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
moonwaltz7 wrote:
Where are you getting that the federation cannot invade anyone? Doesn't the player board just say they cannot invade primitive (pre-warp) civs?


You cannot invade pre-warp civs at all, they can only be colonized, but not by the Federation.

Developed worlds (worlds that have nodes) can be invaded, but not by the Federation.

If a world has any nodes or resource tokens on it at all, the only way the Federation can place a control node is through hegemony.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
csouth154 wrote:
If a world has any nodes or resource tokens on it at all, the only way the Federation can place a control node is through hegemony.


Self correction: The Federation may hegemonize worlds with nodes. They cannot hegemonize worlds with resource tokens (pre-warp civs); No one can do that. Other factions may colonize them, but the Feds cannot. Feds may only colonize worlds with no nodes or resource tokens.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.