$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reveal and Discard If... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Schenker

Oregon
msg tools
mb
For Villains and Dark Arts events that say: Reveal the top card of your deck and if Value 1 or greater influence then X happens...

Which cards trigger the effect?
Is it any card that you have bought, since they all have a value of 1 or greater?
Meaning in the early game the effect wont trigger often because your starter deck is full of 0 value cards.

We ran into a situation our dirst time in game 3 where Lucious and Pettigrew were the very first villains up and we could not get past them. I think part of the problem was how we interpreted that rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Abel Kim
United States
Flower Mound
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
I am a Turtle.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Basically all cards you buy. Anything without a number is considered to be 0 value.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We started reading the "reveal a card" effects to say "and if it's a non-starter card, do whatever."

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gwen Musker
msg tools
If you don't need to discard a card, would the card sit at the top of the deck or move into your hand for the start of next turn? Just wondered as if the 'reveal and discard' mechanism comes up multiples times before your turn and it is not higher than the required value you would show the same card again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jones
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Musketeer84 wrote:
If you don't need to discard a card, would the card sit at the top of the deck or move into your hand for the start of next turn?


The standard interpretation of "reveal" in most deck games is that the card stays in its location, in this case on the top of your deck, unless an instruction says otherwise. The only purpose of a reveal is to make a hidden card public knowledge.

I'm not clear what you mean by the second part of your question. If the card is on top of your deck, it will move into your hand when you draw five at the end of your turn, unless some other ability gives you a card draw or some other effect forces a top deck discard.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gwen Musker
msg tools
Thanks

To be a bit more specific, a game 3 event card causes all players to reveal top card of deck, and discard if required. Assuming the active hero reveals an alohomora no action is taken and the card remains on the deck.
Spoiler (click to reveal)

Then the Peter Pettigrew villain card is resolved where only the active hero is required to reveal the top card of the deck, and discard if required.


If the top card is already revealed and it has stayed in the same location, then I presume no further action would be needed to resolve the villains effect?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moo Cow
msg tools
mb
Musketeer84 wrote:
Thanks

To be a bit more specific, a game 3 event card causes all players to reveal top card of deck, and discard if required. Assuming the active hero reveals an alohomora no action is taken and the card remains on the deck.
Spoiler (click to reveal)

Then the Peter Pettigrew villain card is resolved where only the active hero is required to reveal the top card of the deck, and discard if required.


If the top card is already revealed and it has stayed in the same location, then I presume no further action would be needed to resolve the villains effect?


I think it's just up to the group. If you know what the card is, then you can either choose to just confirm it as a group or just agree you all know what it is, and not flip it over.

Personally, we just flip the card over again to show what it was; just to avoid any errors and keep the habit of following the instructions. Otherwise we may get used to doing that and start forgetting to flip it out of habit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Smith
msg tools
What do you do when your draw pile is empty and a revel the top card situation arises?

Does it have no affect since your draw pile is empty? Or would it force a premature shuffling of your discard pile?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Swampy Crocker
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dave5mith wrote:
What do you do when your draw pile is empty and a revel the top card situation arises?

Does it have no affect since your draw pile is empty? Or would it force a premature shuffling of your discard pile?


Forced re-shuffle occurs. Basically if anything affects your draw pile and you have no draw pile you have to recreate one. Only the discard pile can be empty and ignore effects.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.