$20.00
SPACEBOY
Ecuador
Quito
Pichincha
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Card text reads: Mire 1. Forced: When Soft Mires is discarded by the Mire keyword, the first player reveals an encounter card.
Travel: Raise each player’s threat by 1 to travel here.


Mire effect just says "reveals", nothing else. So it actually is a positive effect 'cause allows players to see the next encounter card. Why on earth would a player travel there? (Specially when its forced travel requirement is rising threat level.)

Am I missing something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colin Thomas
United States
Palmyra
Virginia
flag msg tools
Check out our journey at http://colinbethanyadopt.wordpress.com
badge
"Life before death, strength before weakness, journey before destination." - The First Ideal of the Lightweavers (The Stormlight Archive)
mbmbmbmbmb
FinrondFelagund wrote:
Card text reads: Mire 1. Forced: When Soft Mires is discarded by the Mire keyword, the first player reveals an encounter card.
Travel: Raise each player’s threat by 1 to travel here.


Mire effect just says "reveals", nothing else. So it actually is a positive effect 'cause allows players to see the next encounter card. Why on earth would a player travel there? (Specially when its forced travel requirement is rising threat level.)

Am I missing something?


Yes, you are missing the fact that "revealing" a card adds it to the staging area (and activates surge, doom, and "When revealed" abilities, etc.). This is basically getting another bad card to deal with.

The effect you are thinking of is "looking at" a card in the encounter deck (see wording on Henamarth Riversong or core Denethor hero)

Source: item 1.45 of the FAQ: https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/64/ee...

You travel to the location to prevent its discard by the Mire keyword (and thus, preventing the reveal a card effect).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.