GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

9,822 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
15 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Warrior Knights» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can a Noble without an army seige a 100 strength city? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
luke smith
New Zealand
Dunedin
Otago
flag msg tools
Can a noble with no army lay Siege to a city of strength 100? The siege rules say to take into consideration the +200 and gives an example where a noble lays siege to a 200 strength city with one 50 solider (+200 from his own leadership).

But what about no army?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Courtight
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes he can.

I think this is even the example from the rule book.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
luke smith
New Zealand
Dunedin
Otago
flag msg tools
Thanks, I'll have another read of that section.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
luke smith
New Zealand
Dunedin
Otago
flag msg tools
Actually, from the FAQ, can a Noble not have any troops?

Q: If a Noble loses all his troops but has no casualties,
does the Noble die or is he simply removed from the
board? This matters for such cards as “No Heir.”
A: The Noble is removed from the board (because he has
no troops) but he does not die unless he has casualties
assigned to him. On a later turn, the Noble may return to
the board normally. This similar to when a Noble moves
and another Noble in his area transfers all his troops to the
moving Noble: The now-troopless Noble is removed from
the board, but not considered dead for the purposes of “No
Heir” and “Broken Line.”

This section implies he cannot have no troops assigned to him
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Courtight
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh I did not read the no army part of the question.

Sorry mate.
A lord needs an army to be on the map. He can have no troop, but then he is not placed on the map, however he can later be given troops and added.

But the +200 does count for the purposes of sieges.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Art Silverio

West Des Moines
Iowa
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is this true?

According to the FAQ the only time the +200 is used is when you are drawing fate cards. It does not effect the size/number of troops a noble has.

In this example I would think you would need 100 worth of troops to start a siege. When resolving the siege you get to use the +200 to add 2 fate cards to your draw but that's it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are two parts.

The Noble's strength does get to count when comparing values for sieges. According to the FAQ, comparing strengths during a siege and the number of fate cards to draw are the only two times the Noble's +200 has any game effect.

The second part makes the first part -- and, in fact, the question -- moot, however. Nobles are never allowed to be on the board without an army. One guy, no matter how awesomely dressed, just can't attack another army nor do anything of consequence in game terms.

So a Noble needs some army to be on the board, the smallest of which is a size of 50 mercenaries. A Noble with such an army can siege a city up to 200 in strength.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.