$20.00
$60.00
Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Silent Victory: U.S. Submarines in the Pacific, 1941-45» Forums » General

Subject: New Commander rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Wolton
msg tools
Hey guys,
Just completed my first patrol:
Tambor, Pearl, Dec 1941, Empire patrol.
Came across 4 ships during patrol;

DD Suzutsuki 2000 tons & escort. 4 fired, 1 miss, 3 dud. Escaped.

F Shiraha Maru 5700 & F Hosen Maru 1000, escorted. 6 fired, 3 miss, 3 dud. Dive planes damaged, 1 hull damage. Escaped. Attempted to follow, lost contact.

F Hachirogata Maru 2000 tons, escorted. 4 fired, 2 miss, 2 dud. Escaped. Attempted to follow, lost contact.

Love the tension & narrative; even the frustration at all those encounters & torps fired to no avail! Man, those torpedo techies back at Pearl are gonna receive a rocket when I return!

A couple of questions;
1. On my first encounter, as it was a warship, do I roll for detection twice? Once for the warship, once for the escort?

2. Am I doing something wrong to have undergone such a fruitless patrol, especially with all the ships and lost contact encounters? It seems I was either really unlucky or done something wrong!
Cheers
Dave
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dave, WELCOME to the Silent Victory board !

You only roll detection once for the warship plus escort.

You were unlucky. 2 or 3 of those 8 duds should, by average probability, have detonated. Bad luck on that patrol, but don't lose heart. If your skipper can survive a year and a half, the torpedoes get MUCH better, and you can have your revenge.

Chick
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ronnie Tucker
Scotland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
geezadude wrote:

2. Am I doing something wrong to have undergone such a fruitless patrol, especially with all the ships and lost contact encounters? It seems I was either really unlucky or done something wrong!


Silent Victory seems to be one of those games where you either get lucky and bag some big warships ships, or you get REALLY bad luck and have tons of duds/misses/escapees.

I did a couple of play through videos of Silent Victory where my bad luck is (looking back on it) hilarious! laugh
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I remember one patrol to the Marshalls in which I sighted ZERO ships, though I did manage to roll every 'blank' number on the sightings chart. I'm sure my crew were wondering if I were not a sufficiently aggressive skipper.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Wolton
msg tools
Cheers Chick & Ronnie!
Played next two patrols, second one threw out 24 torps fired again and all misses or duds!
Third patrol (Empire, third in a row!) was more fruitful; sunk three ships so far.....
One more question; at patrol end when you tally up rewards/decorations- specifically the Submarine Combat Patrol Insignia; what gold stars need to be placed on it in future completions of patrols? There are numbers on the rear of these insignia with 1-5 but the only gold stars I can find are the numbered battle stars which seem to fall under a different rule (11.3.10.3)
With that in mind, those rules say that "a new replacement named crewman will arrive as an expert; Roll 1d10. The table underneath shows the result of the roll but not which named crewman arrives on the boat.......What am I missing?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Monnat Jr
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Hourglass Realm D&D 5e Play by Forum (PbF) Campaign DM (we'd love to have you join us!)
badge
U.S.S. Tautog (SSN 639) doing an emergency blow with me on it (see profile for details)
mbmbmbmbmb
Dave,

Chick will answer your questions, and do it well, but I wanted to say hi and welcome to this great game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Melen
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ronnietucker wrote:
[q="geezadude"]


I did a couple of play through videos of Silent Victory where my bad luck is (looking back on it) hilarious! laugh


I strongly recommend watching Ronnie Tucker's playthroughs for Silent Victory. I'm going through them now, and finding them delightful. There are a few rules errors in the early sessions (wrong dice for ship IDs for example), but the series gives a very good sense of what the appeal of this game is. And yes, his torpedoes are cursed!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Wolton
msg tools
Thanks,
I've watched Ronnie's vids but I'm still unclear as to the ruling on 11.3.10.3
Does reward of the battle star mean I roll 1d10 as it says or 1d6 to earn a crew advancement as per rule 11.1 crew advancement? What does the table under the battle stars ruling actually mean?
I can't see any result of the ruling 11.3.10.3 in the rules....
Sorry if I'm being dim!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
geezadude wrote:
Cheers Chick & Ronnie!
Played next two patrols, second one threw out 24 torps fired again and all misses or duds!
Third patrol (Empire, third in a row!) was more fruitful; sunk three ships so far.....
One more question; at patrol end when you tally up rewards/decorations- specifically the Submarine Combat Patrol Insignia; what gold stars need to be placed on it in future completions of patrols? There are numbers on the rear of these insignia with 1-5 but the only gold stars I can find are the numbered battle stars which seem to fall under a different rule (11.3.10.3)
With that in mind, those rules say that "a new replacement named crewman will arrive as an expert; Roll 1d10. The table underneath shows the result of the roll but not which named crewman arrives on the boat.......What am I missing?


The actual insignia has stars on it, but they are rather small. These are shown on the counters, they aren't all the same image! I put the numbers on the back in recognition of this difficulty.

I assume in real life people would have to squint at the thing from inches away when trying to determine how many patrols the recipient had completed.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Wolton
msg tools
At last, I've worked out the replacement crewman issue I was having!
Now it makes sense! It just gets better, this game!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Wolton
msg tools
Another question!
What does the -1F mean on the veteran and elite crew chits? I can't find these modifiers anywhere.......
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm away from my game, but iirc, elite crews get a -1 modifier when firing at enemy aircraft.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
geezadude wrote:
Another question!
What does the -1F mean on the veteran and elite crew chits? I can't find these modifiers anywhere.......


Flak modifier. See the table just before section 3.4.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Wolton
msg tools
Nice one, cheers Ian!
This is a great community for helping fools like me out.....
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.