Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Cosmic Encounter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Force Field question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tomasz Dobosz
Poland
Gdansk
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi.

I have a question about Force Field artifact. It says:
Stops Allies. Play after alliances are formed to cancel the alliances of any or all players. Canceled allies return their ships to any of their colonies.

Situation is like this:
Players A and B are the offense and defense. Player C and D are offense allies. Players E, F and G are defense allies. At the end of alliance forming, player G plays Force Field. Can he:
1. Cancel all alliances of player A, or player B or both.
2. Cancel allince between players A and C and between players B and E and F

Best regards
Tomek
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Homer Simpson
Israel
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He can stop any number of players he wants. In your example it would be reasonable to kick out only players C and D, but he can also kick out all other players besides himself.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack of Clubs
United States
Fountain Valley
California
flag msg tools
Why is there no Word Games Forum or Subdomain?
badge
There should be a Word Games Subdomain, or at least a Word Games Forum!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
homertve wrote:
He can stop any number of players he wants. In your example it would be reasonable to kick out only players C and D, but he can also kick out all other players besides himself.

And he can even kick out himself, in addition, or instead.

If C, D, E, F, and G are all allies, there are 31 possible ways to play Force Field.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Just a Bill
United States
Norfolk
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
No, I said "oh, brother," not "go hover."
Avatar
Phil Fleischmann wrote:
If C, D, E, F, and G are all allies, there are 31 possible ways to play Force Field.

Or 63 ways if one of those players is Yin-Yang and he's on both sides. Since the card cancels alliances (rather than "allies") I would think you could treat Yin-Yang's two alliances independently. Canceling one would not affect the other, any more than canceling Lunatic's alliance would make him stop being a main player.

This concludes this test of the Emergency Nitpick System.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.