$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Five Tribes» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few questions about the rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
pansonic
United States
Louisiana
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hi! New player here.

1. When 2 players are bidding, why would anything other than some variation of 0-0-0-1 be used? It just makes no sense to bid more, correct?

2. There is a Djinn that lets you drop a palm tree on a tile of your choice. Is this Djinn activated when you land on a tile that has a red arrow and a palm tree? Or you could activate at will? I also do not get the difference, when you land on a 'sacred place' tile, you can pay 1Elder+1Elder or 1Elder+1Fakir to get a Djinn, correct, but to activate the Djinn you need to just pay 1 Elder? This part is sort of confusing in the rulebook...

3. You land on a tile and clear it thus claiming it. The tile has a palm tree or a palace on it. Do you still put it on the tile BEFORE claiming it?

4. You land on a tile with assassins, clear it, claim it and use the assassins to kill another single meeple on a nearby tile, thus claiming another tile. Do you use the 'power' of the second claimed tile, too (like, buy goods or get djinns etc.)?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aernout Casier
Netherlands
Nijmegen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Yes it does. If there's a brilliant move out there, or if your move would end the game, it is definitely worthwhile to dig a bit deeper and pay up. You might also want to pay extra to set yourself up for a double turn, whereas your opponent does not have a double turn. Truth be told, the bidding track is at its most interesting at the end of a game (2p) and in multi-player games.

2. "A Djinn" is a bit vague. Enki allows to to place 1 (extra) palm tree during (each of) your turn(s) for the cost of a slave/fakir or elder. These have to be placed on oasis tiles, but you would not have to end on one for this Djinn to work. Lamia allows you to move a palm tree that would be placed because you ended your movement on an oasis tile to a neighbouring tile instead for the cost of one slave/fakir or elder. The cost to activate a Djinn varies widely. Some don't even have a cost, others (usually the more powerful ones, have a cost which ranges from 1 fakir or elder to 1 fakir & elder / 2 elders. The activation cost is always printed on the Djinn card (in a dark rectangular box) and mentioned on the cheat sheet.

3. Every time you end a move on a village or oasis tile, a palace or palm tree is placed. Whether the tiles is empty or not or has been claimed or not, is irrelevant. (And yes, this means that dropping meeples on a village tile under your control can be extra interesting, since you can end there again)

4. You can only use the power of a tile you end on.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael McKibbin
United States
Clemmons
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
pansonic wrote:
Hi! New player here.

1. When 2 players are bidding, why would anything other than some variation of 0-0-0-1 be used? It just makes no sense to bid more, correct?

2. There is a Djinn that lets you drop a palm tree on a tile of your choice. Is this Djinn activated when you land on a tile that has a red arrow and a palm tree? Or you could activate at will? I also do not get the difference, when you land on a 'sacred place' tile, you can pay 1Elder+1Elder or 1Elder+1Fakir to get a Djinn, correct, but to activate the Djinn you need to just pay 1 Elder? This part is sort of confusing in the rulebook...

3. You land on a tile and clear it thus claiming it. The tile has a palm tree or a palace on it. Do you still put it on the tile BEFORE claiming it?

4. You land on a tile with assassins, clear it, claim it and use the assassins to kill another single meeple on a nearby tile, thus claiming another tile. Do you use the 'power' of the second claimed tile, too (like, buy goods or get djinns etc.)?

Thanks!


1) if the first player to bid sees a move which would net a lot of points, they might bid 3 or 5 or even more in order to A) ensure they act first and can take that move before the opponent does, or B) force the second player to bid to bid even higher to take the choice move. In most cases, however, there are enough quality moved where it isnt worth it to bid high.

2) Enki allows you to pay one elder or one fakir to place a palm tree on any oasis. This can be done any time during your turn but you must place the palm tree on a tile with an palm tree symbol. Lamia allow you to place a palm tree from an oasis on an adjoining tile for the cost of one elder or one fakir. You can only activate this power when you end your move on an oasis (the tile with the palm tree). Instead of dropping a palm on that tile, you can pay to place it on an adjacent tile. Also, buying a djinn and activating a djinns powers are two separate costs. You pay two elders/fakirs to buy the djinn, but then, in order to use its powers, you must pay an additional djinn or fakir (or whatever the activation cost is)

3) yes - you always place a palm tree or palace on a tile if you end your move there, even if you claim control of it or even if someone else already owns it

4) no - using assassins to claim a tile does not activate the power of that tile. you only activate the power of the tile you end your move on
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
pansonic
United States
Louisiana
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks guys! It's all much clearer now.
It is a great game that suffers a bit from a less than stellar rulebook...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.