Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

The Grizzled: At Your Orders!» Forums » Rules

Subject: The question about the "Last Stand" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Terry Lau
msg tools
The last statement of "Last Stand": "they are declared winners, but posthumously"
Can anyone explain to me the meaning? I don't understand "posthumously" in this situation ...

Sorry, I am a beginner of The Grizzled
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Hoche
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You won but you are all dead
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terry Lau
msg tools
surprise

If anyone still has cards on the hand, that mean the game will keep continuing?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The game cannot continue after Last Stand, by the rules this is the last mission.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ronald Tin
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe it meant you have 3 ways to win

1. Exhaust the peace deck in the usual manner (but get various types of penalty due to mission card)
2. Perform The Last Stand
3. Perform The Final Assault which is more difficult but sort of like the perfect ending in computer games.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terry Lau
msg tools
hokuto_su wrote:
I believe it meant you have 3 ways to win

1. Exhaust the peace deck in the usual manner (but get various types of penalty due to mission card)
2. Perform The Last Stand
3. Perform The Final Assault which is more difficult but sort of like the perfect ending in computer games.


Oh, it's makesince~
This is the bad ending when I fulfil the "Last Stand"
cry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex
Canada
Candiac
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe it rather means the game ends in a tie.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
afafard wrote:
I believe it rather means the game ends in a tie.

Depends on your point of view. Common military logic would call it a tie or even a victory on the tactical or strategic level, but from the point of view of our 6 friends "posthumous" does not sound like anything they would have welcomed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JD Holl

Washington
msg tools
mbmbmb
I think "Last stand" is essentially a Pyrrhic victory.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fluffy Fluff
msg tools
I can´t believe the meaning of "Last Stand". For example there are no requirements for getting rid of all cards or something else.
This means that if no soldier plays a card and all soldiers simply retreat from war they end the game as winners?!?!
Further it can be done in the first round.

Is this right?
-> Therfore its only a joke winning...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sven J.
Germany
flag msg tools
now i got it.

if you choose this mission, then only the 4th type of symbol lets you loose the game.
if the mission fails, you loose.
if the mission success. all players die in thes last fight, but the game "is won" (like in movies, when the soldiers die in a glorious fight!
if you can empthy the draw pile, so that the bird is visible and get all hand cards played, you win imidially (before the victory conditions of the mission cards triggers).

so playing this mission is usefull, when you can empthy the draw pile and can play all of your hand cards, without playing the 4th symbol.

hope anyone can understand my description. i'm really tired, but now i understand this card and can sleep well
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.