$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

MBT (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: ATGM Fire & Spotting rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nolan Hudgens
msg tools
mb
Ray-

Ordinarily spotting can occur at any time. For example just before firing Overwatch. The SPOT/ Move and SPOT/ Fire counters are placed only where a unit does one of those actions. The counter reminds players that the noted actions increase spotting range. (table with modifiers) The markers _don't_ indicate whether or not the marked unit is spotted. That depends on range and the available modifiers. (which include those markers; it's possible for units to keep the "SPOT" markers from turn to turn if they can't be removed during the Spotting Phase.)

I think the "spotted during the Spot Phase" requirement means that the ATGM target must be able to see the ATGM firer during the Spot Phase, before any movement or fire by either side in that turn. That way a target that has closed the range (maneuvered to avoid obstacles, etc.)so as to be newly able to see the firer during its move won't be able to Dodge.

Hope that isn't too circular.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. B.
Germany
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
@ Ray: If the ATGM-Attacker's target was able to spot the ATGM-Attacker during the Spotting Phase, then normally the target will be able to spot the ATGM-Attacker during the following Direct Fire Step of the Combat Phase too. Normally there is no change of the spotting situation between the Spotting Phase and the ATGM-Attack.

So, if the target is able to spot the ATGM-Attacker and has itself a Move command, then during the Direct Fire Step of the Combat Phase - when the ATGM-Attacker attacks the target - the target has the option to dodge according to the 5.1.3.3.4 rule on p. 7.

I can't think of a situation where an ATGM-Attacker wasn't seen during the Spotting Phase, but is seen during the Direct Fire Step of the Combat Phase. Maybe You can give an example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nolan Hudgens
msg tools
mb
Wouldn't the difference occur where the target's ability to spot the ATGM firer is newly enabled during the target's movement? I.e. the Target must be able to spot the firer before any unit fires or moves during that turn [the Spotting Phase] in order to be eligible to Dodge. [though direct fire also allows dodging, overwatch creates the possibility that a firer that was previously not spotted by the target would become so before it fired]
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. B.
Germany
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Yes. You're right. If the ATGM-attacker has an Overwatch Fire command and the target moves, but didn't spot the ATGM-attacker during the previous Spotting Phase, then the target is not allowed to dodge the ATGM-attacker's Overwatch Fire though the target actually is able to spot the ATGM-attacker.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.