Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Istanbul» Forums » Rules

Subject: Using the double action bonus cards twice in same turn rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yavuz Öztürk
Turkey
flag msg tools
Today while we play Istanbul, my friend used two "double action at post office" cards and made action at post officce for three times in same turn. I played this game 10-15 times but I confronted such a thing for the first time. Is it legal ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Meech
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmb
Yes, the rules say you can play any number of bonus cards on your turn.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Gilutin
United States
Alhambra
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well......that's true but........
When you play one of the double-action cards, you're saying ( as you enter the tile) that you're going to do the upcoming action twice.
Imo, the timing doesn't work to legally do more than two post office actions in the same turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Bruhn
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
apecage wrote:
Well......that's true but........
When you play one of the double-action cards, you're saying ( as you enter the tile) that you're going to do the upcoming action twice.
Imo, the timing doesn't work to legally do more than two post office actions in the same turn.
I understand what you mean, but "one more time" wouldn't have been easier to understand in symbol language.
Nevertheless it is meant to be this way.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L M
msg tools
mb
I would say no, the card says to do it twice, not "one more time".

These cards used more than once in order to win 3 rubies (with a lot of money or merchandises) would be too powerful.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Grabiner
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The designer answered in this thread, confirming that you can play two 2X cards.

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1419487/can-you-use-two-2x-...

While the picture of the card says, "2x", the text explanation says, "do it another time," which allows the triple move.

The triple move isn't overpowered; each card gives you the same benefit, saving the need to move on and off a space (and take an additional action in between).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Jones

Cambridgeshire, UK
msg tools
mb
If it helps in seeing why the 2x cards aren't overpowered, imagine that every bonus card was "Take another turn after this one", and the only way of getting bonus cards was to sacrifice your turn and take one instead.

That clearly wouldn't be overpowered: all it lets you do is defer a turn until later.

The challenge with the actual bonus cards in Istanbul is therefore (a) to obtain them more cheaply than by visiting the Caravansary and (b) to arrange that your bonus cards are situationally more beneficial to you than taking an extra turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.