$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Captain Sonar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mine Placement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ian Avery
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rulebook - page 6 wrote:
The Captain draws an M (for "mine") on a space adjacent to his submarine.
The Captain cannot drop a mine in a space on his route (with a line drawn in it), and a submarine cannot move into a space with its own mine.

Can the mine be placed diagonally adjacent or only orthogonally adjacent?

I ask because movement is orthogonal only, so it seems odd that I could launch a mine further in one action than I could move the submarine. Damage seems to be the only feature to include diagonals and even then, only as part of an area of effect.

Despite all of this reasoning though, the rules as written don't expressly forbid diagonal placement.

Thoughts?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mines can be placed diagonally.

Fabien
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. Perry
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There's a small diagram on the player boards that helps to show that the mines can be placed diagonally:
https://boardgamegeek.com/image/3126125/captain-sonar
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
You can take my game… when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the board!
mbmbmbmbmb
Since you can't place mines where you've been, or where you're going, the choice would be rather limited without diagonals!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.