$5.00
$20.00
$15.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: traps and monsters from the quest rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pedro Tallieu
Belgium
Tielt
West-Vlaanderen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When there are traps in the staging area and a quest brings in monsters (such as the trolls from conflict at the carock) do these enemies 'land' on the traps or do they bypass it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Munn

Unspecified
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As a general rule, they "land" on the traps. Traps that you play in the staging area (i.e., pretty much every trap except Forest Snare) say to attach them to "the next eligible enemy that enters the staging area". What "eligible" means is that it would be legal to put player attachments on that enemy. So an enemy with the text "cannot have attachments" or "immune to player card effects" would be skipped: the trap wouldn't be destroyed, it would just land on the next enemy instead. And what "enters the staging area" means is just what it sounds like: the card wasn't in the staging area before, and now it is. Whether it came from the encounter deck, or was specifically put into play by the quest card, or it was engaged with a player and the player played some card that throws it back to the staging area, it doesn't matter: the card just went from "not in the staging area" to "in the staging area", so it has entered the staging area and the trap card will try to attach to it.

The unique Troll enemies from Conflict at the Carrock don't have any text that says they can't have attachments, so the trap will work. However, note that trap cards are not "smart": if you put two or three trap cards out at the same time, the first eligible enemy that enters the staging area will have all the trap cards attached to it at once.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robbie M.
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's a Trap!!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Franklin
United Kingdom
Braintree
Essex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
roborob wrote:
It's a Trap!!!


Wrong LCG

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.