$35.00
Michael Wilding
United States
Old Tappan
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
These cards all require the Axis to "move or RD" or "relocate" units to the Balkans Front or East Front boxes or suffer a VP penalty. The rules don't specify what location the units must come from. Can the units come from another box location? It would seem generous to allow the Axis to shuttle units back and forth between boxes to satisfy the requirement of the cards but ...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't see why you couldn't do that, as long as you follow the rules for movement and relocation.

The real penalty is the loss of tempo having to take an action you might not want to take.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Wilding
United States
Old Tappan
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I don't know ... I would agree except it doesn't seem like much of a loss of tempo when you consider that a unit can simply Ops Move between the East and Balkan Fronts. You don't even have to play a card to do a 1 Ops Move. If you had to use a card for Redeployment that would seem like a loss of tempo. Considering that the penalty is so large - loss of a VP - it would seem like the cost of avoiding the penalty would be more significant.

Also, consider that there is an Axis card - Von Manstein card - to cancel the effect of a Disaster in the East and that there is an Allied card to cancel the effect of Von Manstein - Von Manstein Dismissed. It seems like much ado about nothing if the Disaster card can be satisfied shuttling units back and forth between the East and Balkan Front using an Ops move.

Just saying ... .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Well some of the cards require an armor unit, so there's that. And the Italian units in the Balkans will not be there long...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The move is perfectly legal.

An OPS round is a round the Axis player is not doing something else they wanted to do. The Allied player is dictating tempo. That's good.

The Axis player has units in the east doing nothing contributing to the defense of Italy or France. Once the Allies have opened up multiple fronts every single unit counts. The Italian armies at game's start and the static fortress units give a false impression of a lot of Axis units. Again, a win for the Allies.

What are the odds of the Allied player drawing both cards? Minimal. And a good Allied player will spread them out. Get a unit to withdraw to the East and then, when it's just about moved back to Italy or the West, play the other event (the the Balkans event is a one-shot event also). You do it just as the units are out of "OPS" range and have to Redeploy back. It's well worth it, believe me.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.