This may seem obvious to some, but I can't find it in the rules, so I am asking here. When initially placed on the board, are the Artefacts, Royal and Kingdom tokens placed face up or face down on the board? I know when you buy an artefact, the rules say they "remain face up until played", but whether they are face up or face down when you buy them makes a considerable difference.
Face up. Under Miscellaneous - Secrecy - (maybe page 12 - my pages aren't numbered) it says "Artefacts are initially placed face-up".
You are turning them face-down to indicate they are being used.