Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Cry Havoc» Forums » Rules

Subject: Artillery Battery Tokens rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Tudor
United States
Detroit
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The humans had an artillery battery and an artillery token in the same region.

The machines used shred drones to knock out the one defender and then invaded the region.

So now, Machines have control of the region with the artillery battery and the artillery token. Is the artillery token removed from the board? This makes the most thematic sense but I cannot find anything in the rules or reference that addresses this. Also do artillery tokens in other regions get removed if the humans lose control of their artillery battery?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Locksteed wrote:
The humans had an artillery battery and an artillery token in the same region.

The machines used shred drones to knock out the one defender and then invaded the region.

So now, Machines have control of the region with the artillery battery and the artillery token. Is the artillery token removed from the board? This makes the most thematic since but I cannot find anything in the rules or reference that addresses this. Also do artillery tokens in other regions get removed if the humans lose control of their artillery batter?


The token remains until a battle involving Humans. If you move straight in, the token will be a part of the battle.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Bennett
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
HerrohGrant wrote:
Locksteed wrote:
The humans had an artillery battery and an artillery token in the same region.

The machines used shred drones to knock out the one defender and then invaded the region.

So now, Machines have control of the region with the artillery battery and the artillery token. Is the artillery token removed from the board? This makes the most thematic since but I cannot find anything in the rules or reference that addresses this. Also do artillery tokens in other regions get removed if the humans lose control of their artillery batter?


The token remains until a battle involving Humans. If you move straight in, the token will be a part of the battle.


but there wasnt a battle because there were no miniatures in the region. so it still just stays there?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Klaxas wrote:
HerrohGrant wrote:
Locksteed wrote:
The humans had an artillery battery and an artillery token in the same region.

The machines used shred drones to knock out the one defender and then invaded the region.

So now, Machines have control of the region with the artillery battery and the artillery token. Is the artillery token removed from the board? This makes the most thematic since but I cannot find anything in the rules or reference that addresses this. Also do artillery tokens in other regions get removed if the humans lose control of their artillery batter?


The token remains until a battle involving Humans. If you move straight in, the token will be a part of the battle.


but there wasnt a battle because there were no miniatures in the region. so it still just stays there?


The token remains until a battle involving humans.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
X Shrike
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
HerrohGrant wrote:
Klaxas wrote:
HerrohGrant wrote:
Locksteed wrote:
The humans had an artillery battery and an artillery token in the same region.

The machines used shred drones to knock out the one defender and then invaded the region.

So now, Machines have control of the region with the artillery battery and the artillery token. Is the artillery token removed from the board? This makes the most thematic since but I cannot find anything in the rules or reference that addresses this. Also do artillery tokens in other regions get removed if the humans lose control of their artillery batter?


The token remains until a battle involving Humans. If you move straight in, the token will be a part of the battle.


but there wasnt a battle because there were no miniatures in the region. so it still just stays there?


The token remains until a battle involving humans.


So the Watchtower and Artillery tokens are only removed from the board until have a Human combat involving them or they are needed elsewhere?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
XShrike wrote:
HerrohGrant wrote:
Klaxas wrote:
HerrohGrant wrote:
Locksteed wrote:
The humans had an artillery battery and an artillery token in the same region.

The machines used shred drones to knock out the one defender and then invaded the region.

So now, Machines have control of the region with the artillery battery and the artillery token. Is the artillery token removed from the board? This makes the most thematic since but I cannot find anything in the rules or reference that addresses this. Also do artillery tokens in other regions get removed if the humans lose control of their artillery batter?


The token remains until a battle involving Humans. If you move straight in, the token will be a part of the battle.


but there wasnt a battle because there were no miniatures in the region. so it still just stays there?


The token remains until a battle involving humans.


So the Watchtower and Artillery tokens are tokens are only removed from the board until have a Human combat involving them or they are needed elsewhere?


Yes. You have a battle, or all 3 are placed and you activate the structure again, in which place you remove one and place it elsewhere.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon J
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Print and Play Gamer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can't build Artillery or Watchtowers in unoccupied regions right? Under the rules it says in order to build a structure has to be a territory you control, but on the Artillery/Watchtower it says you can build them in the region you are in or an adjacent one, but the ADJACENT region has to be controlled by you, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
patton55 wrote:
You can't build Artillery or Watchtowers in unoccupied regions right? Under the rules it says in order to build a structure has to be a territory you control, but on the Artillery/Watchtower it says you can build them in the region you are in or an adjacent one, but the ADJACENT region has to be controlled by you, correct?


You're mixing the BUILD with the activation.

Building them follows all normal rules.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Nelson
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
You can't BUILD STRUCTURES in regions you don't control or regions that have a combat token.

ACTIVATING STRUCTURES (their tokens) have different rules, however.

I find that to understand how and where they can be placed you'll want to review page 12 -> key terms -> occupied.

You can place your tokens (that specify) in adjacent regions if they are UNOCCUPIED (doesn't matter if you control them or not).

An unoccupied region is one that;

- does not contain any "unit tokens" (enemy MINIATURES). The rules are confusing here because the components section at the beginning of the rule book have nothing called, "unit tokens", it does however have "unit miniatures" and then all manner of tokens (artillery, etc.). Miniatures are actual units. Tokens can ACT as units but they are not really (hence, they can't be killed or captured and usually disappear after the specific use described).

Otherwise, the region is unoccupied.

Trog nest and war party tokens don't make it occupied (remember, tokens are not actual units)
Structures don't make a region occupied (again, the token thing).
Control tokens are....tokens! They don't make a region occupied either.

So basically, whenever deciding if a region is occupied or not...look for minis. Don't see them? It's not occupied.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.