Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Game 4 Villain question (spoilers) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
GodRob
United States
Culpeper
Virginia
flag msg tools
There's nothing like the sound of a child's laughter to remind you that your apartment's haunted.
badge
Happy Halloween!!!!???!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This question concerns one of the villains in Game 4.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
The Death Eater Villain has the ability: "Each time Morsmordre or a new Villain is revealed, ALL Heroes lose 1 heart."

When the Death Eater replaces a defeated villain during Step 4, will his own revealing cause all of the heroes to lose 1 heart or just the revealing of other villains?


Since the game is new I put the question in spoilers as well as noting in the title that this thread will contain spoilers. Replies do not need to be hidden but it won't be discouraged either.

And a related game 5 question

Spoiler (click to reveal)
So there's another Death Eater in Game 5. How would this work if one Death Eater is already in play and another is drawn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Riley Doyle
United States
Londonderry
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Spoiler (click to reveal)
We didn't play it that way. The death eater's power doesn't go active until the step two of the next turn.


Haven't played 5 yet so I didn't read that question.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jones
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been interpreting that a Death Eater does not trigger its own ability. However, if a second one flips it would trigger the effect of the first. In turn, if neither of them are defeated, you are taking three damage for Morsmorde or two damage for revealing a new villain.

Another thing to keep in mind with Death Eaters is that, from year five onward....

Spoiler (click to reveal)
when the second to last card if flipped, you actually reveal two villains at the same time - the flipped card plus Voldemort. My reading of the rules is that this would trigger the Death Eater twice.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)

The only time I'd expect a newly revealed Death Eater to activate is if you were replacing TWO defeated villians, and the DE was the first one. In that case, the second villian would be newly revealed, and the DE would be in position to activate.

A given DE shouldn't activate on itself being revealed though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Wolf
United States
Carlsbad
Unspecified
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmb
The Villain in question does trigger its own ability upon being revealed. At least, that was our design intent. While most Villain abilities resolve in Step 2, a few can trigger at other steps in a player's turn.

Andrew Wolf
Game Designer - USAopoly
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GodRob
United States
Culpeper
Virginia
flag msg tools
There's nothing like the sound of a child's laughter to remind you that your apartment's haunted.
badge
Happy Halloween!!!!???!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Game 4 Villain question (spoilers) - answered
nethershadow wrote:
The Villain in question does trigger its own ability upon being revealed. At least, that was our design intent. While most Villain abilities resolve in Step 2, a few can trigger at other steps in a player's turn.

Andrew Wolf
Game Designer - USAopoly


This doesn't seem to be the way that most are playing, at least the ones who answered this thread so far. Might be worth mentioning in the FAQ. Hopefully one is coming soon?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jones
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
nethershadow wrote:
The Villain in question does trigger its own ability upon being revealed.


So this creates a new question. If a Death Eater is revealed on setup, do heroes take the damage and start at nine health, or do they still start at ten?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarrod Babel
United States
Terre Haute
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nethershadow wrote:
The Villain in question does trigger its own ability upon being revealed. At least, that was our design intent. While most Villain abilities resolve in Step 2, a few can trigger at other steps in a player's turn.

Andrew Wolf
Game Designer - USAopoly


This seems really counterintuitive. In a game that is supposed to be new player friendly and has fairly common rules spelled out on some cards (draw a new hand at end of turn for the basilisk and petrified, I mean of course you do otherwise you don't ever draw new cards and you lose) I find this interaction quite obtuse, especially as others pointed out the rule book explicitly states villain abilities trigger in step 2. This needs an errata.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarrod Babel
United States
Terre Haute
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davypi wrote:
nethershadow wrote:
The Villain in question does trigger its own ability upon being revealed.


So this creates a new question. If a Death Eater is revealed on setup, do heroes take the damage and start at nine health, or do they still start at ten?


The answer to this better be no (otherwise again it's massively counterintuitive). But if it did it could start all hereos at 7 health if revealed first (even to 5 health if they come out first and second).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.