Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Fire in the Lake» Forums » Rules

Subject: Capability - does either side last whole game? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Myles Carey

Seattle
Washington
msg tools
Capability cards are labeled: <Faction> capability

Why?, info only?

For example 116-Cadres has VC Capability

If Coin picks the unshaded side is that in effect for rest of the year?

Thanks
Myles
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy Mauldin
United States
Texarkana
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Any Capability would be in force for the remainder of the game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Carey
United States
Woodinville
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, a capability, shaded or unshaded, stays in effect for the rest of the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Train
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The reason why Capabilities are shaded or unshaded is for when you set up a scenario and some of them will be in play at the beginning of the scenario. (See scenario setup instructions). In A Distant Plain and some other games, you can (optionally) go through the unused Event Cards and assign Capabilities to be in effect at the beginning of a shorter scenario.

Brian
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Seanmyles wrote:
Capability cards are labeled: <Faction> capability

Why?, info only?

For example 116-Cadres has VC Capability

If Coin picks the unshaded side is that in effect for rest of the year?

It is in effect for the rest of the game, unless cancelled by another Event.

The relevant rules section is 5.3 Capabilities. (There's also an entry for "Capabilities" in the Key Terms Index which refers to 5.3.)

Regards,
Oerjan
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark J.
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
Depends on the Capability. There are events that cancel specific capabilities and ones that can flip any capability, but they are few in number.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.