$20.00
$5.00
$30.00
$15.00
Arthur O'Dwyer
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
This is a question only a rules lawyer could love... but our group happens to contain some rules lawyers, and today it came up in real play.

The UK Event card "King Peter Enthroned in Yugoslavia" reads: "Eliminate an Axis Army in the Balkans. Then, recruit an Army in the Balkans."

At this point in the game, the UK player was nowhere near the Balkans, but the Soviet player was in Ukraine and headed for Italy. So the UK player decided to recruit a Soviet Army in the Balkans instead of the "expected" UK Army.

It can be convincingly argued that whenever the game means to imply that the built unit must be of a certain nationality, it explicitly says so, as on the cards in the first list below. (I'm sure there's a legal term for this argument. It's not quite contra proferentem...)

The following cards use the phrase "(Build/Recruit) a (your nationality) (Army/Navy)":
- Increased Commonwealth Support (UK)
- Vasilevsky Takes Command in the Far East (Soviet)
- German-Soviet Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation, and Demarcation (Soviet)
- Romanian Reinforcements (Italy)
- Italian East Africa (Italy)
- Italy Attacks Communists (Italy)

No cards in the base game ever use the phrase "(Build/Recruit) an (Axis/Allied) (Army/Navy)".

The following cards use the generic phrase "(Build/Recruit) an (Army/Navy)":
- King Peter Enthroned in Yugoslavia (UK)
- Dutch East Indies (UK)
- Singapore (UK)
- General Smuts Strengthens Ties to UK (UK)
- Free France (UK)
- Defense of the Motherland (Soviet)
- Amphibious Landings (US)
- Wartime Production (US)
- Superior Shipyards (US)
- Fleet Deployed to Pearl Harbor (US)
- Arsenal of Democracy (US): "The UK may immediately build an Army and a Navy..."
- Free French Allies (US): "The UK may build an Army in Western Europe, North Africa, and Africa..."
- Patton Advances (US)
- Aircraft Carriers (US)
- Murmansk Convoy (US): "The Soviet Union may build an Army..."
- Fall of Singapore (Japan)
- Special Naval Landing Forces (Japan)
- China Offensive (Japan)
- Destroyer Transport (Japan)
- Forced Conscription (Germany)
- Blitzkrieg (Germany)

Special mention goes to the UK Economic Warfare card "Malta Submarines", which reads: "Germany and Italy each must choose to either discard the top 2 cards of its draw deck or remove a Navy in the Mediterranean." Presumably it meant to say "...or remove its own Navy in the Mediterranean."

Realistically, I think we should assume that "Build an Army" means "Build one of your own Armies", and so on; but I'd like to get an official answer from the designer if possible. (And if the rules lawyers have it right and we can build other people's Armies, then what does that do to something as simple as a "Build Army" card? That way apparently lies madness.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Blum
United States
Wilmington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Maybe the rules lawyers would like to check the actual rules?

Quote:
Some cards specifically direct you to build or recruit a teammate’s piece; this is not a misprint! However, unless the card indicates another country, a card always refers to the pieces and cards of its own country.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

The excerpt Dan quoted is on page 16, incase the rules lawyers in your group have trouble finding it!

(all in jest ... except or the page 16 part)!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrzej Fiett
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
tool wrote:
Maybe the rules lawyers would like to check the actual rules?

As someone said: "When all else fails, try to check the rulebook".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.