$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Kodama: The Tree Spirits» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Score 1 leaf"/"Gain 1 leaf" decrees rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
M Douglas
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
I have a question about two types of decree cards.

(1) The Summer Decrees Burgeon (#6) and Thrive (#10) state, "After placing a branch card with four different types of features [or "that scores for multiple types of features"], gain 1 leaf." Would such cards be scored normally and then an additional leaf be added, or would the total score for each card be 1 leaf?

(2) The Fall Decrees Born Anew (#11), Canopy Glow (#12), and Fade Away (#13) state, "Score 1 leaf when placing a branch card without a [feature] or [feature] on it." Does this mean score ONLY 1 leaf for these cards, or does it mean score 1 ADDITIONAL leaf for these cards?

For (2), it seems that the first interpretation would be unfair to players who couldn't find a card with one of those two features--the decree would be stealing up to nine points from each card placement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Darcy
Australia
Blue Mountains
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In both cases it means score an additional leaf. As you say, it would be unfair otherwise.

So, score 1 leaf when placing the card if it meets the decree, then score normally.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Little
msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Greg is correct.

Score and Gain are meant to be interchangeable. Both mean to gain points in addition to what you would gain.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.