Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Great Western Trail» Forums » Rules

Subject: Train Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
G Leung
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm excited about this game and will probably get it; just a rule clarification though from reading the pdf rulebook. I have two questions.

1. According to the rulebook, when your train reaches the end of the line...

"The last space of the railroad track (space 39) is special. If your engine reaches this space, its movement ends there (and you may upgrade the train station as usual). Then you must move your engine back- wards. You must move your engine at least one space backwards and
may move it to any free space along the track (even a turnout space). After you have done so, immediately gain 3 Dollars. If you did move it to a turnout space, you can immediately upgrade its train station as usual (and even use the money which you just received)."

To my understanding, it seem that you can move your track to anywhere on the line where it is not occupied by an opponents' train, even a turnout space, if you hit space 39.

After you've moved "backwards", does that mean you get to move the train forward again if you get a move-train action (train with green arrow)?

2. If you upgrade a station with one of the five station master tiles and another player has already taken the station master tile and replaced it with one of their workers, are you essentially just upgrading the station for victory points?

Thanks@
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Axel
Germany
Görlitz
Sachsen
flag msg tools
Do not click on it!
badge
I play with red!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Seems correct and you can move your train forward again.

2. Stations are also requirements for some objective cards and you can upgrade your player board this way.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben M
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Just to clarify, the train can move back to literally any open space on the entire track? Or is there a limit to how far back it can go? The rules seem to suggest the former.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Kahánek
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to clarify,
The last space of the railroad track (space 39) is special. If your engine
reaches this space, its movement ends there (and you may upgrade
the train station as usual). Then you must move your engine backwards.

Does that mean IMMEDIATELLY? Or in the next turn?
Can you reach space 39, upgrade the station and in the same turn go back on any space and upgrade another station?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Marshall
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kahy wrote:
Just to clarify,
The last space of the railroad track (space 39) is special. If your engine
reaches this space, its movement ends there (and you may upgrade
the train station as usual). Then you must move your engine backwards.

Does that mean IMMEDIATELLY? Or in the next turn?
Can you reach space 39, upgrade the station and in the same turn go back on any space and upgrade another station?

Yes, immediately, as part of the same turn.

Yes, you can go to any open space, including a siding which you can immediately upgrade.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.