There is a Mayoral Reward card that cares about cards in hand at game end; taking 4 cards in the last round is an easy 4 points so removed it.
There's still a hand size of 7, right? And if you draw 4 to max out that card, that's instead of potentially scoring points from playing... maybe that isn't worth the extra rule?
isn't there also a Mayoral Reward card that wants you to have the same number of Mayoral Reward cards as GoL cards in hand? Does the "don't draw in last turn" rule affect that at all one way or the other?