$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Meaning of "playing cards with tags"? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hongky Anggoro
Indonesia
Surakarta
Central Java
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, when playing Terraforming Mars 3 players, my friend stumble upon a card (bluecard) with upper panel said: Effect: when you play card with animal/microbe/plant tags, add 1 microbe to this card, then the downward panel said: 1VP/3 microbe on this card.

Does that mean that if my friend using action on another bluecard with microbe/animal/plant tag, he/she immidiately add 1 microbe to this card? Or "playing microbe/plant/animal tags" means if he/she buy a card with those tags (in research phase) and paid for it as an action, then she/he valid to add 1 microbe to that card? The former would be overpower, cause that means whenever he.she using action on another bluecard with those tags, automatically get 1 microbe, at the end of game would score huge points.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Örjan Almén
Sweden
Karlstad
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When a card is played is when it is bought and put on the table, so for each card put to the tableau after that card is played, he checks if it has one of those tags, if so, add a bronze cube to that card. At the end of the game he will get 1VP for every three cubes on the card.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Hymowitz
United States
Elkridge
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
nezuko wrote:
Effect: when you play card with animal/microbe/plant tags, add 1 microbe to this card, then the downward panel said: 1VP/3 microbe on this card.


"Play a card" refers to using an action, taking the card out of your hand, putting it on the table, and paying the required cost.

Quote:
Does that mean that if my friend using action on another bluecard with microbe/animal/plant tag, he/she immidiately add 1 microbe to this card?


No. This is using a card, not playing a card.

Quote:
Or "playing microbe/plant/animal tags" means if he/she buy a card with those tags (in research phase) and paid for it as an action, then she/he valid to add 1 microbe to that card?


You do not need an action to purchase cards in the Research phase. This is still not "playing a card."
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Odyzeus Longbow
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
orjanalmen wrote:
When a card is played is when it is bought and put on the table, so for each card put to the tableau after that card is played, he checks if it has one of those tags, if so, add a bronze cube to that card. At the end of the game he will get 1VP for every three cubes on the card.

Do note that you add a microbe for EACH such tag - some cards have more than one and could result in 2 or 3 microbes being added. These cards are rare though.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hongky Anggoro
Indonesia
Surakarta
Central Java
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
newsaidin wrote:
orjanalmen wrote:
When a card is played is when it is bought and put on the table, so for each card put to the tableau after that card is played, he checks if it has one of those tags, if so, add a bronze cube to that card. At the end of the game he will get 1VP for every three cubes on the card.

Do note that you add a microbe for EACH such tag - some cards have more than one and could result in 2 or 3 microbes being added. These cards are rare though.

I believe the card said "OR", so if a card has 2/3 of those tags, we only add 1 cube, not 2/3 cubes?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chaddyboy
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Bloooooop.
badge
Bluuuuuurp.
mbmbmbmbmb
nezuko wrote:
newsaidin wrote:
orjanalmen wrote:
When a card is played is when it is bought and put on the table, so for each card put to the tableau after that card is played, he checks if it has one of those tags, if so, add a bronze cube to that card. At the end of the game he will get 1VP for every three cubes on the card.

Do note that you add a microbe for EACH such tag - some cards have more than one and could result in 2 or 3 microbes being added. These cards are rare though.

I believe the card said "OR", so if a card has 2/3 of those tags, we only add 1 cube, not 2/3 cubes?

This is somewhat unclear from the card text. Assuming we're talking about the "Decomposers" card, the text reads:

Effect: When you play an animal, plant, or microbe tag, including this, add a microbe to this card.

It seems to imply that each tag would add a microbe, as the text would otherwise say "Whenever you play a card containing an animal, plant, or microbe tag..."
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
chaddyboy_2000 wrote:
nezuko wrote:
newsaidin wrote:
orjanalmen wrote:
When a card is played is when it is bought and put on the table, so for each card put to the tableau after that card is played, he checks if it has one of those tags, if so, add a bronze cube to that card. At the end of the game he will get 1VP for every three cubes on the card.

Do note that you add a microbe for EACH such tag - some cards have more than one and could result in 2 or 3 microbes being added. These cards are rare though.

I believe the card said "OR", so if a card has 2/3 of those tags, we only add 1 cube, not 2/3 cubes?

This is somewhat unclear from the card text. Assuming we're talking about the "Decomposers" card, the text reads:

Effect: When you play an animal, plant, or microbe tag, including this, add a microbe to this card.

It seems to imply that each tag would add a microbe, as the text would otherwise say "Whenever you play a card containing an animal, plant, or microbe tag..."


Yes, each tag (in the top right corner) adds a resource, note the card "Ecological Zone" which has an animal & plant tag with the effect

"When you play an animal or a plant tag (including these 2), add an animal to this card"

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chaddyboy
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Bloooooop.
badge
Bluuuuuurp.
mbmbmbmbmb
DaveD wrote:
Yes, each tag (in the top right corner) adds a resource, note the card "Ecological Zone" which has an animal & plant tag with the effect

"When you play an animal or a plant tag (including these 2), add an animal to this card"

Cool, sounds like the wording could be improved though in future printings, but it makes sense given the context of this card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.