$35.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Middle-Earth Quest» Forums » Rules

Subject: Concentrate, and then canceled card or exhaustion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Liu Apertotes
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Concentrate adds two to attack and defense next round.

1. What if the hero is exhausted next round? Would he still have at least 2 attack and defense?

2. What if the next round the hero's card is canceled. Would he get the bonus from Concentrate?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Falenthal Greenleaf
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer to both is no.

If the hero is exhausted, he can't play any more cards. And, therefore, there's no card to add the bonus to.

If the card is cancelled, the whole card is, including the bonuses.

There might be some special cases that cause doubts, but that's how I understand the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liu Apertotes
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Falenthal wrote:
The answer to both is no.

If the hero is exhausted, he can't play any more cards. And, therefore, there's no card to add the bonus to.

If the card is cancelled, the whole card is, including the bonuses.

There might be some special cases that cause doubts, but that's how I understand the rules.


But Concentrate does not say that the bonus is added to the card, but to the round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Falenthal Greenleaf
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rulebook, page 29:

Previous Round Abilities: If the card text of any card
played in the previous combat denotes “Next Round,” then
those abilities are resolved at this time (unless otherwise
specified), first by the hero and then by Sauron.
Note that if one of the combatants became exhausted this
round, his previous round ability is canceled
.

And, regarding cancelled cards:

Cancel: Cancel abilities are extremely powerful. Whenever
a card is canceled, all text on the card is ignored, and the
owner’s final attack and defense value are considered zero.
Note that the numbers may not be modified above zero and
that a canceled card’s strength cost is not reduced (in other
words, the canceled card must still be paid for in strength by
its combatant).

This could lead to more discussion, but personally I consider that the sentence final values means "after all modifiers are applied, the final result is still 0".

I'd have to look at the FAQ, because I think this question also came up there. I'll post again if I can do that later.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Falenthal Greenleaf
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, from the FAQ:

Q: When a combat card is cancelled, does this cancel any attack and defence
bonuses gained from the previous round?
A: Yes. A canceled combat card has a final attack and defense of 0.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liu Apertotes
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thank you very much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Falenthal Greenleaf
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You're welcome!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.