Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about travel rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Shaw
msg tools
mb
Do you have to travel to a location? I had a situation where a few were bunched up in the staging area and it seemed easier to focus on the quest than to travel and keep raising the amount of quest tokens needed.

Is this allowed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricardo Jorge
Portugal
Amora
Setúbal
flag msg tools
mb
It is optional to travel, unless a revealed location says otherwise. You can totally ignore to travel to some locations in order to finish a quest that with an active location wouldn't be possible to finish on that turn, for instance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kārlis Jēriņš
Latvia
Riga
flag msg tools
I'm a sheep.
badge
A lovely, fluffy sheep.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mattshawman wrote:
Do you have to travel to a location? I had a situation where a few were bunched up in the staging area and it seemed easier to focus on the quest than to travel and keep raising the amount of quest tokens needed.

Is this allowed?


You don't have to travel, but you will almost always want to, if you can. After all, there aren't many ways to get rid of locations in the staging area - you can either travel to them and explore them, or you can use some of the (not very frequent) effects that let you place progress directly on locations in the staging area. And every location that stays in the staging area will keep increasing the total threat level you're questing against, and thus reduce the amount of progress tokens you get to place on the quest anyway. In fact, not being able to clear locations quickly enough often leads to the dreaded "location lock", which is what happens when there's so much threat provided by locations in the staging area that you can't quest successfully, and thus can't clear the active location in order to travel to a new one.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Koen Hendrickx
Belgium
Reet
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tales from the cards have a nice guide written down about travelling:

https://talesfromthecards.wordpress.com/2013/05/14/a-travel-...
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.