Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Project: ELITE» Forums » General

Subject: Wonky Solo Game (nevermind, missed a rule) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Charlie Theel
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Posting to make sure I'm not missing something. Playing solo extermination and both of my objectives require 4 gun symbols be placed on them.

If I take 3 wounds and lose a die, I lose the mission then-correct?

I guess that's fine, but it seems like the experience would be smoothed out playing with 5 dice solo. Just feels a bit strange that it's that frail of an experience when playing solo. Otherwise it felt fine.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ROBERTO M
Mexico
Puerto Vallarta
Jalisco
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Wonky Solo Game
Actually, when you play solo you use five dice. It's in the rulebook, last page, numer 18: Solo game.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Theel
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Wonky Solo Game
elwatoplus wrote:
Actually, when you play solo you use five dice. It's in the rulebook, last page, numer 18: Solo game.


Ha! Thanks, was hoping I missed something. Even looked back through and missed that some how.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Franco
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
Re: Wonky Solo Game
You probably missed you are supposed to play it the same as a 2 player game as well!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Theel
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Wonky Solo Game
Ugh. I'm going to re-read the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michail Giannis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Wonky Solo Game
You may got the rules wrong but your observation remain.

You start with 5 dice (solo)
You lose 2 dice because you got hit enough times and drop to 3 dice.

IF your mission requires for a 4 tile (exterminate or detonation) you have to forfeit the game EVEN though you aren't dead and you still have a good 3 dice-life to do as you please.

In a 2 player game even with both players having 2 dice each you still got a chance to beat it (a slim yeah but a chance non the less).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Theel
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Wonky Solo Game
MountainRoot wrote:
You may got the rules wrong but your observation remain.

You start with 5 dice (solo)
You lose 2 dice because you got hit enough times and drop to 3 dice.

IF your mission requires for a 4 tile (exterminate or detonation) you have to forfeit the game EVEN though you aren't dead and you still have a good 3 dice-life to do as you please.

In a 2 player game even with both players having 2 dice each you still got a chance to beat it (a slim yeah but a chance non the less).


Yes, in retrospect that doesn't feel unfair though (to automatically lose the scenario if you lose 2 dice). I played poorly and lost a bunch of wounds because I ended a phase right in the walking path of two aliens.

Five dice feels right, at least I can console myself with the fact that my gut feeling was actually the correct rule.

I usually don't mess up rules this badly and apologize for the needless thread. I'd delete it if possible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CK Lai
Malaysia
Subang Jaya
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Wonky Solo Game
charlest wrote:
I usually don't mess up rules this badly and apologize for the needless thread. I'd delete it if possible.


Oh, I don't know... I'd leave it as a reference for other players.

I only saw the "solo player gets 5 dice" rule myself last Wednesday... AFTER I'd played 5 games solo!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.